Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tybee

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The staff at Tybee has a rehearsed attitude. Most establishments on Tybee the employees carry the same attitude as beach goers. I didn't feel welcomed at all, just a number.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Negatives: Ocean view overlooked a huge public parking lot (pics were deceiving). Bathtub had pubic hair still stuck to the wall. Sheets were itchy/bumpy because they had been overused... the fabric had pilled. Cable channels were different from the guide provided. AC unit was very loud.. sounded like an old angry ogre. Positives: front desk staff were really nice and helpful and prompt. Next to the ocean. I consider myself a "glass is half full" kinda gal.. but it was hard to find many positives about Hotel Tybee. I was happy to be at the beach and it was an impromptu overnight stay, so I tolerated the conditions. I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to any of my friends or family, unfortunately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, Georgia

Hotel Tybee

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Hotel Tybee looks good on the website, but it is not how it appears. The staff at the Tiki bar and hotel lobby were great. The cleaning staff not so much. The. Bathrooms are just awful..outdated, mold, cracked tiles, just creepy. The room was okay, but beds were not comfortable. The pool area and Tiki bar is less than inviting. Outside the lower floors on the balconies are cigarette butts everywhere. The location is great, but I would never stay here again. This review may seem harsh , but it is accurate, and because I depend on the reviews of others I wanted to be honest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Not terrible, but disappointing

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach and to Sting Ray's restaurant
Cons: Facilities need to be updated.
Location: Beach and Sting Ray's restaurant are amazing and very close.
The staff was nice and accommodating; however, the facilities were not all that impressive. The bathroom hod paint stains and cracks in the tile. The bath tub had soap scum and the water pressure was lacking. The cable channels were the most basic I have encountered, and there was no option for streaming. The elevators worked... sometimes. On the positive side, it was close to the beach. All requests for a roll away bed and additional bedding was met by the staff. The people there were quite impressive, but the facilities were disappointing, especially considering the price. I will recommend Sting Ray's restaurant, right across the street. That was some of the best food we had on vacation and the price was also very impressive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augusta, GA

Adequate room, close to the beach and restaurants.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The room was not particularly clean and you could tell that expense was spared trying to update the hotel as a whole. It is close to the beach, pavilion, restaurants, and marine science center. If all you need is a place to crash, it will do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great vacation on the beach

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: It's location.
Location: Many stores and restaurants are within walking distance. We enjoyed our lunch at the Deck right on the beach. Very good service and food.
We had a great mini vacation (3 nights) at Hotel Tybee. Loved the location and the beach. The room was very nice and clean and we had no problems. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We hope to come again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Terrible Hotel Room

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Humidy, Seals not working, drawers stink, elevator seems almost broken, not enough luggage carts, maids did mediocre cleaning job, don't get this hotel unless it's also beach side view otherwise not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, GA

Nice hotel...walk to beach

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Our room was clean and up to date. Bathroom was clean; Reesee (name on the card) did great job getting our room ready for us. Although the hotel was not directly on the beach it was a very quick short walk (public parking lot). We will definitely be staying here again. Put your worries to rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Not happy with a destination fee, i.e. parking fee? which is added on your stay. Plus everywhere you drive you must pay for parking a minimum of $4. It makes it difficult for a handicap person to take Beach gear to the shore!!! Not happy!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't wait to come back

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I enjoyed the stay at Tybee island and Hotel Tybee made it worth while. I got a great deal on Expedia. The hotel staff was very pleasant and check in was a breeze. The area is beautiful and you have uncongested access to the beach. The breakfast buffet is pricey but you get your money's worth and a great view. The room was clean, pretty standard. I knew what to expect coming in. I loved walking the strip and the peach at night. Make sure you get a frozen drink and enjoy some island time