Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean but don't expect much

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The room was spacious and clean. However there was no fridge. No buffet breakfast, just a small cafe. No food service in rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your room. I am sorry the stay did not exceed your expectations. We will try to work on this. Have a great day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Dusty, Dirty, Bloodstained, Uncomfortable

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The location was good. It looked nice from the outside.
Cons: They need to deep clean it, throw out stained bedding, replace old beds, put better lighting in bathroom, and get softer towels.
Location: It was convenient to Wolf Trap, Tysons, and the airport, but there are many other (better) hotels nearby that are just as convenient.
I stayed here because it was the closest hotel to Wolf Trap. After this, I will choose a better place that's a little farther away. The room seemed nice at first, but there were major issues. I called ahead to request a minifridge. I knew I'd be checking in and immediately leaving, and they told me I would indeed have one. I got there and they told me that I'd have to go to my room and wait for someone to bring it up, which took ~20 minutes. Not a deal breaker by itself. Why I won't be returning: - the bed was notably concave, and clearly had seen a few too many guests. - the sheets had BLOOD STAINS - the carpet had stains - the shower head clearly hadn't been cleaned in a few months. - the water pressure was painfully high. - there weren't enough towels - the towels were miserably scratchy - The lighting was so dark in the bathroom it would not be possible to apply makeup. - there was dust in every nook and cranny. - I had the nastiest allergic reaction I've had in a while (dustmite allergy). - At 8am housekeeping made quite a ruckus in the hall and woke me up. - the AC was buggy, and difficult to set, and had no "fan" option. I was hoping to tune out all the noise from neighbors because the walls were thin, but that was not an option. I think the best I can say about it is that there weren't any signs of bed bugs. I would only tell someone to stay at this hotel if I wanted to punish them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Stacy! We are sorry you had issues during your stay, as it is our goal to Go Beyond for our guests and make your stay comfortable. There is no excuse for the bedding and linen issues you encountered, and our housekeeping team will work with our associates to ensure we are being more thorough in our room preparations. We thank you again for bringing these items to our attention, and please know these comments help make improvements and ensure better service and amenities in the future. Thanks again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel shows its age

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See my experience above
Old hotel. Not well maintained. No shuttle to metro as advertised. staff said the walk to metro was scenic - If you consider walking past walmart and several car dealerships scenic then maybe they are correct. I was charged slightly more than the Expedia rate. I did not notice until I got home and compared the bill and advertised rate by expedia. I will not stay at this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Jules, Hotel Management
Hello there, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We are pride ourselves on giving our guests the best experience and unfortunately this did not happen while you were with us. We appreciate your feedback and will work hard to be better in the future. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

The receptionist Marcos was terrible!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Cons: The receptionists could be trained.
Location: The location is very nice, especially for first timers who have a lot planned to see in DC.
We arrived at the reception at 3 am after our long long drive from Chicago to DC on July 4th weekend. I asked the receptionist Marcos if I had to pay or they had already receieved the payment. He told that the payment was deducted and we were all set, he said he did not even know from where we had booked and what we had paid. Next, we just asked him if breakfast was included on our booking, so that we could plan to wake up accordingly. To that he sarcastically said it is never included in that PRICE. Now that's a sarcastic unwelcoming receptionist that you don't want to run into when you are tired as hell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Dear Shivam, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your rating and your positive comments regarding our hotel location. Many people enjoy the proximity to DC and all there is to discover! Our apologies for the experience you had at our Guest Services when you arrived. All of our guests are important, and we are sorry if you were made uncomfortable. Your comments will be shared so we can improve and give better service to our guests. Thank you again for sharing your comments, we appreciate your time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va

not good

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Rooms are noisy,Aircon setting is weird,food in the lobby below normal Sheraton standerd
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Dear yousif, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we appreciate your feedback. We apologize if any portion of your stay was below your expectations. We work hard to Go Beyond for our guests, and we are sorry we let you down. In the future, if your room is not to your liking please let our guest services team know so we can get you into a room with quieter air conditioning unit, or perhaps a quieter part of the hotel. We are also sad you found our food service less than desired. We are working on a new food and beverage concept, and we are hoping to get the challenges fixed as quickly as possible. Thanks for sharing, so we can do better for our guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel near lots of stuff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Awesome location and nearby.
This was a great hotel. I enjoyed my time at the hotel. It's in a nice area, with a tons of eating spots. In close proximity to a very nice mall and other shopping outlets. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was neat and clean, and I was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, Curt! We are pleased to see you enjoyed your visit with us. A clean room, convenient location, and friendly staff are what we strive for! Thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tysons Corner

7/9/2017

Posted Jul 10, 2017
My stay was excellent simply excellent. My girlfriend and I were very satisfied with our room and stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, Paul! We appreciate your comments and hope you will visit with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Goood!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
I loved there good location clean good view what else do I need?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay! The only thing you need is to visit again! Thanks again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Nice hotel and close to Walmart and the mall. It was big hotel with swimming pool and free parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, Turki! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, it certainly is a big hotel, and our location is loved by many. Glad you got to enjoy the pool. Please come visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Everything was nice. Didn't give five stars only because the AC was a bit louder
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Chris Z., Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback! Sorry about the A/C unit, next time please let someone know and we can try to find quieter accommodations for you. We recognize every guest has individual needs. Thanks again!