Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

In the shadow of Cader Idris

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: It was in the area I needed to be in and was clean and comfortable. Surroundings were excellent with mountain views. Car parking on site.
Cons: There was no TV in my room. Although I did not need it and found plenty to do.
Location: Quiet and remote yet less than half an hour from surrounding towns. Corris railway, King Arthurs Labyrinth, Talyllyn Railway, Mountain walks, scenery.
Friendly proprietor. Did not meet any other staff. Breakfasts were on an epic scale. I had to miss on some items later on. Well cooked and presented. Very old house with exposed beams in restaurant area. My room was accessed from stairs right in the middle of the restaurant. Not much else around so very quiet. Main road at the front but I was not aware of it as my room was at the rear. Ideal for access to Tywyn for Talyllyn Railway, Talyllyn Lake, Dolgellau, Corris, Machynlleth etc. Aberystwyth is about an hour away.
5 out of 5
by Justinas from Essex

Exellent relax

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Was perfect and relaxing, really nice and friendly landlord
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhein-Main Gebiet

Sehr schönes altes Haus

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Der Charakter des alten Hauses und die Freundlichkeit des Besitzers - alles sehr persönlich und individuell.
Location: Das Hotel ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt für Wanderungen (Cadair Iris).
Freundlicher Empfang, guter Service und sehr sauberes und geräumiges Zimmer in einem Haus mit Charakter. Das Essen sowie das Frühstück sind sehr gut und reichlich. Der Hotelbesitzer ist hilfsbereit und auskunftsfreudig. Wir durften das Auto auch am Tag der Abreise noch auf dem hoteleigenen Parkplatz für eine ausgedehnte Wanderung stehen lassen. Das Haus besitzt einen über 400 Jahre alten Charme, ist aber gut und geräumig ausgebaut. Die Sauberkeit ist besonders hervorzuheben.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Log fire

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely overnight stay. Very friendly landlord. Beautiful location and blissfully no signal. Warm log fire in the evening.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Huntingdon

Gwesty Stay

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed in the single room. The room was ok, and the shower adequate. The hotelier was good help very welcoming and chatty. Price was abit steep for what you get, also there is no entertainment TV etc, in the room
4 out of 5
by Carl from Wirral

I'll be back!

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for one night after walking the cadair idris range. The hotel sits at its southern foot and is the perfect base-camp. The menu and quality of food served was superb. Also served a great range of local ales, which were fabulous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Cons: A TV in room and guest Wifi would be better in this day and age
Lovely base to stay and friendly and helpful host.
4 out of 5
by Ingo

Very individual place to stay

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place, unique.
4 out of 5
by helen m from South Wales

Birrd watching trip

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Had a lovely few days away especially wanted to visit the RSPB reserve at Ynys Hir, and the Dyfi Osprey centre Which we did and had a good time. The food at the Hotel was lovely
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel perfect location

Posted Feb 8, 2015