Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This is a bit different

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Cons: There are little midgies or sandflies that come up from the river that can be problematical at times.
OK you are either going to like this place or hate it and I think it really depends on your expectations. This is not the standard, full service, 5 star balinese uberhotel with all amenities. It would be more accurate to describe it as an eco retreat. Remember this is full Vegan, not just vegetarian. I would think that all the attributes you can give to it, one person would hate and another would love. For instance no TV - great if you want to get away from the idiot box for a while. Others wont like. No fridge - well theres no alcohol available anyway, they give you water and you can make delicious herbal tea for yourself, so wheres the need? Phone reception for ice, no problems they deliver ice. Limited lighting in the living room/outdoor bale so you need to retire to the bedroom when it gets dark but again, we tended to go to sleep when it got dark and get up when it got light. Room service: basically only when you call for it but always friendly. We liked this as we didnt get the constant interuptions whilst sunbaking around the pool etc that you often get at other hotels. This place is best for Vegans or those that really want to take a chill pill for a few days. We stayed for 5 days, took about 10 of the spa treatments (cost a fortune but great - try the Chocolate Love!!), read books and had a great romantic holiday. Have to admit to taking the free shuttle twice into Ubud to get a hit of meat and a quiet bintang but other than that a perfectly zen holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by K.Sunaradi, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here for others to read. We are glad to read that you found our location quiet and peaceful, and enjoyed service and facilities provided to you. We look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Near to the nature

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Location is remote in the middel of local village.
The hotel is nice,exquisite and immaculate which blends perfectly with nature. This is the hotel if one is looking to rest and relax away from the norm. It is like staying in your own village. The spotless room have all the privacy u want. The thing to consider is that the location is in remote area in the middle of local area village. It has a vegetarian concept which focus on well being. There are no minimart or shops nearby and no tv too but u can play the pipe music inside the room. The hotel do take it vegetarian concept seriously that u can only find vegetarian foods on the menu - I do struggle with this but it is ok if U look it as something different/new. With all the natarul deco I do feel like flinstones :) . The staffs are attentive and superb which is a big plus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Judith from Nelson, NZ

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
I wish I could live at this hotel. The room was so very special, sitting so near the Ajung River...with a huge outdoor bathtub to die for. The bathroom is among the very best I have ever seen. The food is beyond incredible. We have had very little experience with vegan food and this experience has made us converts! My husband took a culinary cooking class with the chef, who is simply amazing. I had three treatments with three healers who were all exceptional in their healing abilities. We loved it so much that we went back for a day (the cooking class and a healing treatment) after we had moved into Ubud. Heaven.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in the natural

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The overall experience is fantastic..we like the villa and the bathtub facing the Agung river. The location is a bit remote, around 30 mins to Ubud area..but is ok for us as we choose this hotel is purely for relaxation and enjoy the natural feel.
5 out of 5
by Colette from Sydney

Wonderful relaxing holiday

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location, very relaxing. The food was delightful from attentive friendly service, presentation and taste of the vegan dishes- so much so when we left Five Elements we were pining for their food. A wonderfull experience - would love to visit yearly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Royal Rip-off Reward

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The gardens and the river view.
Cons: I would include another menu for those who are not vegatarians, Remove men bathing in the river Charge decent transport prices
Location: In the middle of nowhere, with no transport other than the villa's, at $15 per km!!!
Nice looking hotel on pictures, but one would have thought as a vegetarian villa, they might have some fish or seafood on the menu....NONE!!! We could not eat there! After first meal, my tummy was runny. Their mixture of leaves (anything and everything combined) and half tomato bushes (stork and all) was not good for me. Then to go anywhere else, they charged us Fifteen dollars to drive us 1km!!! ($25 - $30 return for a TWO km trip) What a rip-off!! We paid a local $50 for the day and he took us all over Bali on sightseeing for cheaper than their 2km return trip!!. I got sick and thought a banana might help, so I ordered 4 bananas.....$12 for 4 bananas!!!! I can buy two bunches of bananas at home for that price! Then we paid cash for our first (and only meal) there, and when we checked out they wanted to charge us for the meal AGAIN!!! Alltogether my stay was a disaster, the staff are clueless and the costs for the smallest thing there is just a total rip-off!! Lunch there is over $50 (NO MEAT remember), yet in Ubud you can get a four-course lunch for less than $50 INCLUDING meat!!! The price I had to pay just on their transport and meals, I could have stayed at home!!! I am yet to experience the "Bali is so cheap" promise. Not to mention the locals that come and bath in the river right under your nose, whilst you're sitting on your balcony trying to enjoy the view of the river.......naked men, women and children, all defecating in the water too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Fivelements Team , Hotel Management
Dear Sirs, Thank you for taking the time to review Fivelements. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our award winning wellness resort is located 8KM outside of Ubud, and we offer free shuttle services when booked within schedules. The $15 charge is per destination, not by the KM. As part of our Holistic approach and concept, we uses healthy gourmet plant based Living Food cuisine to support the healing journeys of our guests. Our apology that you found the local customs of river bathing offensive. Though we are blessed to have our property nestled by the River Ayung, this is public property and we are not in charge of visitors and usage. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for wellness with guests and wishes all our guests to walk out the door feeling rejuvenated. We are sorry you had less than stellar experience in this occasion. We wish you the very best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Best kept secret inBali

Posted Apr 10, 2016
My husband and I stayed there for the first time the food was delicious vegan food and neither one of us are vegan and are foodies. The property is small and focuses on healing and holistic treatments. We've visited many of the high end resorts throughout Bali and they all have something amazing to offer but if you're looking to truly rejuvenate (spiritually, physically, emotionally, sexually) then Fivelements is second to none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing. Paradise in the jungle.

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Monkey forest, Lawok coffee, nature walks, hippie shopping, volcanoe dinner, yoga, meditation, recover and rejuvinate
Friendly staff, delicious vegan food, peaceful music, luxury bamboo retreat. No faults
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Relaxing

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Lovely location away from the hustle of Ubud. Access to treatments, swimming pools and the best food. Vegan menu is a taste explosion with every bite.