Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning setting in the garden

Posted Jul 16, 2017
It's an awesome place, staff are fab and the food stunning. Only minor issue is the infinity pool, which considering is the main reason many book, has the dirtiest glass surrounding it, making the rainforest difficult to see. When I say dirty it's almost brown. Apart from that one of the best hotels in Asia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Property, security, spa.
Cons: A few more rooms at spa. Only 2 private rooms and the other 3 were just separated by curtains. Also a few extra shuttle bus times to/from Ubud.
Location: 10-30 minutes North of Ubud (depending on traffic and time of day). Shopping, dining, dance shows in Ubud. Bicycle rides as well.
Beautiful property with lovely staff. Excellent spa. Good security for resort as well. Had a Pool Villa but rained for 3 days straight so pretty cold to go in any pool. Food was average but pleasant atmosphere and relaxing in both restaurants. With the traffic increasing around Ubud, what used to be a 5 min drive into town, now took us 25- 30 minutes at one point so plan for that if you have reservations. All-in-all very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ubud Bali

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We enjoyed our stay until on the last night the power in our room kept blacking out. They didn't seem to know how to fix it despite numerous calls to reception. Other than that nice hotel with very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice Hotel with a Balinese Village layout

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Interesting design along lines of traditional Balinese village. Wow factor on arrival with lovely rice terrace view from lobby. Rooms themselves nice and clean but most with limited views, though all with some. Staff all lovely, friendly and helpful. Pool area a big plus, large and lovely. Food fair to good rather than anything exceptional.
5 out of 5
by Rapunzel

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was such a relaxing stay and I loved everything about the hotel! From the architecture, to the interior of the villas, to the landscape, to the location and of course the most friendly and courteous staff! Not to mention great food and super healing massage (literally healed me and my husband after a most gruelling tour of the temples!) Will definitely recommend kamandalu to my friends and family. Very happy with my stay. I wish I could stay longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Fremantle, Australia

Sensational resort, beautiful grounds.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Just bout everything, the rooms, the gardens, the location.
Cons: More privacy for bathroom/showers. A shower rose that hangs at or above head height (inside), robe hook for outdoor shower, mosquito screens on doors.
Location: Not far from Ubud centre, a good walk though. Shopping, cooking course, monkey forrest, restaurants, spas, yoga in resort.
Totally impressed with this resort. We attended the morning yoga session each day of our stay; whilst probably not for beginners, it was pretty good, with the yoga house set into the side of the river gorge. Gorgeous! We were happy to be upgraded, and the room was generous and well appointed. The garden was delightful as well as private and peaceful. The outside shower was fantastic, even in the rain, although a towel/robe hook would be handy. One thing, though...the location of the day bed in the garden was a little inconvenient if anyone wanted a shower (either indoor or outdoor) or to use the toilet. Maybe move it to the other side of the garden. There are no screens, so at night we had to have the a/c on with the doors/windows closed, which was a shame...no point fighting the mozzies all night. The main bed did have muslin netting, although probably more for decorative purposes than mosquito protection. These are just small things though, suggestions really. We (3 friends) LOVED IT! We'd recommend it to our friends. Probably not that suitable for children though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Amanda

FANTASTIC!!

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
AMAZING!!!!! STAY HERE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average experience at a reasonable budget

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Nature
Cons: Customer services
PROS - The nature in the hotel (we found a bird nest with colourful eggs in the garden in our villa :D ) CONS - The hotel staff could be more attentive and helpful. Not all are friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Love the scenery, it a very relaxing place to stay

Posted May 15, 2017
Everything is nice is just the stair to the day bed needed to re paint. Like the tall ceiling villa too.