Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Piece of Paradise

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The lighting in room. The light above the bed made it a little difficult to read.
Katmandalu Resort is a great place to de-stress and relax. I came to Bali on business and after a week of noisy cars and motorcycles this retreat was just what the doctor ordered. Within minutes after retiring to my room the the serene invironment started working its magic. The surrounding view was lush and green. I laid down and propped myself up with pillows on the outdoor bed on the patio. A short distance away I noticed a monkey in the nearby tree munching on a coconut. My room was adorned with little flowers carefully placed throughout the room. The hand carved canopy bed bed was not only beautiful but very comfortable. The roof of the bungalow was made of some kind of grass or reeds which added to the ambience of the nicely decorated room. Some of the bungalows have their own private pools so I imagine this would be a great place for a family to stay. Even if you don't have your own private pool there are two lovely pools on the property. The breakfast buffet has everything you could want including expresso, cappuccinos and lattes. The first night I arrived I was a bit tired so I ordered room service. Being a past snob I was so surprised at how good the spaghetti carbonara was. So good in fact that I ordered it the next night as well. Clothes don't fit now but it was worth it! Well sorry for being so verbose bit I guess you can tell I really liked this place. Oh and one more thing.........the staff was fantastic! 😋
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very relaxing experience

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This hotel is great! We stayed in a private villa over looking the jungle. The room and pool we're amazing. We didn't spend much time outside of our villa but the rest of the grounds were well kept and added to the experience. We did both spas which were great but the jungle spa was our favorite of the 2. Thanks for a great honeymoon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chantilly virginia

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The Kamandalu is a beautiful place to relax. The people who work here go out of their way to make your every wish come true. I would stay here again and again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from istanbul, turkey

Nice hotel in the middle of forests

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Rooms and facilities looked nice but; - We waited till 15:30 o'clock to check in because old guest wanted to have late check out (we already had 2 days in the hotel and 1 day was gone). - There is a kids club in the lower lobby and when we arrived to the hotel,l kid scream and noise were everywhere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

I would employ their web designer!!!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Sadly, the real thing is a sorry second. It is badly in need of an overhaul. The staffing is chaotic, we had to chase housekeeping to do our rooms. There were two sad, hard and small towels in our bathroom. There is no bar to enjoy a drink, other than in the pool! One restaurant, which was chaos at breakfast. All in all, not what I would deem a 5* hotel or anything like the Website .......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, UK

Very luxurious and friendly

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, private
Location: Ubud is a great place for the arts and tourism. The roads are very busy though!
We loved our private garden with it's day bed and the friendliness of the staff who couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Perfect retreat to reflect and relax

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Kamandalu was the perfect escape from a hectic life and allowed the space and calm to reflect and relax. The morning yoga sessions were spectacular and the spa experience was an absolute delight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning setting in the garden

Posted Jul 16, 2017
It's an awesome place, staff are fab and the food stunning. Only minor issue is the infinity pool, which considering is the main reason many book, has the dirtiest glass surrounding it, making the rainforest difficult to see. When I say dirty it's almost brown. Apart from that one of the best hotels in Asia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Property, security, spa.
Cons: A few more rooms at spa. Only 2 private rooms and the other 3 were just separated by curtains. Also a few extra shuttle bus times to/from Ubud.
Location: 10-30 minutes North of Ubud (depending on traffic and time of day). Shopping, dining, dance shows in Ubud. Bicycle rides as well.
Beautiful property with lovely staff. Excellent spa. Good security for resort as well. Had a Pool Villa but rained for 3 days straight so pretty cold to go in any pool. Food was average but pleasant atmosphere and relaxing in both restaurants. With the traffic increasing around Ubud, what used to be a 5 min drive into town, now took us 25- 30 minutes at one point so plan for that if you have reservations. All-in-all very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ubud Bali

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We enjoyed our stay until on the last night the power in our room kept blacking out. They didn't seem to know how to fix it despite numerous calls to reception. Other than that nice hotel with very friendly staff.