Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
My wife and I had an amazing stay. Staff was super friendly. This place is perfect for relaxing and unwinding from the busy tourist side of town. I would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Unique experience in Ubud Bali

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The views in nature. The quietness of the property. The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Quality of the food on the breakfast buffet.
Location: 100% you should arrange for a trip to Mount Batur for the hike! The hike is tough but well worth it!
My sister and I traveled to Ubud and stayed at the Kupa Kupa for 2 nights. We arranged a transfer with the hotel from the airport, which took over an hour. Our driver was very pleasant, once we were able to find him among the dozens and dozens of drivers with signs at the airport exit. The hotel allowed us to check in early, which was great after traveling. We had a light lunch at the pool bar, took a nap (the weather was not great on our first day) then went for dinner and drinks at the main restaurant. Great experience and the view (before sunset) was stunning. The included breakfast was average at best, which was followed by a day at the pool. We opted for the pool above the Japanese restaurant for this day. Later on, we reserved a spot on the free shuttle into the town of Ubud. Spent 2 hours in town, but when it was time to come back to the resort, another couple missed their pickup appointment, so the van driver shoved 2 additional people in our van for the 15 min ride back. Very uncomfortable, but manageable. Had sushi for dinner followed by a cocktail. Checked out the next morning at 2:30 am, as we left for hike Mount Batur for sunrise. The staff did mess up our checkout process, and we were stopped as we attempted to drive out of the resort. I was escorted back to the lobby to re-settle my bill, which meant having my card swiped again for the error caused by the staff. Granted, it was 2 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great view and kind Staff, quiet & good privacy.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
This stay was definitely a positively memorable one for my family. Not only was the location and the view breathtaking, the service and maintenance of the rooms and area were also impressive. All the workers were so kind and very accommodating, truly making me believe that the customers comfort was in their best interest. The food was also amazing and the taxi services were very enjoyable and convenient. Thank you for the good memories!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional hotel with incredible views

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with amazing staff! Couldn't ask for a better location to spend our honeymoon. Definitely coming back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The location is the best in ubud and probably bali - I've been to bali three times and to numerous hotels in all district and this has the best view hands down. The rooms, however, are dated and towels and sheets are old. The rooms and bathrooms are in desperate need of renovation. The service is not great and breakfast is very simple. Pool was very dated as well. The private pools in the villas are not heated. But they have the best spa I've been to in the world. L'occitane spa is incredible and I would honestly just stay there again for it.
3 out of 5
by Jordan

bad food food spoils perfect experience

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the kupu kupu barong villas for one week. The hotel is situated just outside the small village of ubud itself. On first arrival at the hotel it is nothing more than amazing. The views are incredible and everything you pictured about the area before you arrive. The meet and great with the staff was excellent and all very pleasant and willing to help. The villa we stayed in which was villa number 14 was superb. The view of the river was great You are nicely secluded away so you feel the privacy. Now to the real issue with the resort. The food at this hotel is terrible!! For a £300 a night experience, 5 star hotel I was expecting to be blown away by the meals. I could have not been further off the mark. The hotel has one main restaurant - la view and with staying in the villas you have access to an Indonesian and Japanese restaurant at the jungle retreat. La view was rubbish. The menu never changes, the food delivered is sub par for a 5 star restaurant and just lacks any excitement for the prices you pay I think the quality of the food is shown at meal times when 95% of the restaurant is empty!! The Indonesian was better but again the same issues as la view. I can't pass comment on the Japanese as I never experienced the food there but I wouldn't expect much different. If this hotel invested in some quality chefs it would be a truly amazing place to stay but with the food been so poor it really hinders the experience
4 out of 5
by Pritesh

Awesome place with amazing views

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Overall stay here was quite good the staff working in here were so co-operative and humble and very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saudi arabia

lovely river view and friendly and helpfull staff

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I will recomend this hotel to anyone I care about 👍
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Very bad experience, the room is very dirty I couldn't sleep there, I checked out in my first hour.. The staff are unprofessional