Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

A gem of a hotel...

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Santi Mandala Villa and Spa was fantastic. They cater to the customers and go out of their way to help. I enjoyed my luxury suite with my own private pool and the breakfast was great. If you want a quiet and very picturesque place to stay then I suggest the the Santa Mandala Villa and Spa. Tresse
2 out of 5
by Chris

Never Again

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
We had a (not so) private villa. Poor layout had a huge window with clear line of sight to our bathroom/shower and our 'private' pool from other rooms. Property has it's charms but it's a bit older and run down. Staff was inauthentic, incessantly asking what you were doing today, where you were from, and pushing their spa sessions as if reading from a charmless playbook. Breakfast would have been in line with expectations had we not been pestered to answer the same exact questions from 5 separate employees. Came home one very hot day to find our room AC turned off. They organized a taxi for us at double the average rate. Wi-Fi spotty. Title says it all - Never Again. Way to many nicer choices available for LESS. P.S. We stayed in villas at 4 locations around the island, as well as 2 other hotels during our visit. Two of the other villas were less expensive than this one and all three were a much better experience. Our hotel rooms were also better than this 'villa' experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Nice Villa with private pool

Posted Aug 8, 2017
We had a villa with private pool. It was really nice. The hotel is a bit far from Ubud and there is a lot of traffic to get there. The restaurant could be a bit nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for the quiet get away.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The location, the service and the traditional style rooms.
Cons: There was construction at the hotel, but hopefully the next time I stay there it will be much nicer than when I was staying there.
Location: Nothing to do near by. You need to take the shuttle car (20 mins drive) to the UBUD city or hire a driver for 1/2 or full day.
I really enjoyed this hotel. It is perfect for the retreat that I was looking for. It's about 20 minutes (free hotel shuttle that runs 4 times a days) away from the city. I usually take this shuttle around dinner time and get into UBUD city for dinner and a cheap massage :) The hotel was under renovation, but I love the traditional Balinese living style (the outdoor bathroom, the four post bed and all the suites have outdoor patio, and you have your own little hut) One thing that I was a bit disappointed in was that the common areas is a bit out dated and not as luxurious. Other than that, the staff and the level of service was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel , good food and great surrounding

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Cons: add kids corner with some playing area, for families
nice experience , missing bit of animation in the night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Loved it here.

Posted May 22, 2017
Santi Mandala is beautiful! Our room was nice, open, and clean. The staff is super friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was delicious. I didn't notice from the photos, but the bathrooms are sort of outside (they're enclosed and gorgeous, but I was not prepared for the heat while getting ready or the potential for bugs/geckos hanging around), so I figured I'd mention that so no one else is surprised. Ha. Overall, had a great time and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A superb, beautiful, peaceful place

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I struggle to think of Santi Mandala's equal. The location, level of comfort, effort taken to ensure the quality of the stay, the sense of escape and luxury and pervading mood of relaxation is a rare and precious thing. It is a place to lose yourself and find something worth remembering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Peaceful rice paddies and personal service

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Its small, and intimate - you see the same staff and guests over your stay. The girls in the spa give good massage.
Cons: Internet access! But hey, that is the same through all of Bali......
Location: The butterfly farm was engaging and of course, Ubud is 20 minutes away.
It's not the newest hotel, but there is a graceful charm and elegance that works at SM. The service is excellent, and the staff are friendly, and care. The rooms are very "luxurious 10 years old", but lovely, comfortable and well-appointed. It's excellent value, and the transfers into Ubud are reasonable, so not a difficulty at all. We made a decision to stay one day at the hotel, having massages and doing yoga classes with Bismah. Then, the next day we went adventuring. My travel companion is gluten-intolerant and the Hotel were very helpful with making sure she had suitable dining options.
5 out of 5
by Kate

Great relaxation by the pool

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is out of any tourist locations, which is great if you want few days in a great resort, or are comfortable with taking a shuttle or taxi anywhere. It is an hour from the airport and driving distance to the beach. But great for relaxing for few days by the pool, without any crowds. I was celebrating my birthday at the hotel and the staff prepared little cake for me and sang happy birthday. The personnel is really very friendly and the food was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Glenda from Wollongong NSW Australia

4 days of Bliss.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The staff treated us like family. The ambience was so tranquil. Loved the yoga classes each morning. Free shuttle service was excellent.