Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Jan from Australia

hotel report

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: everything else
Location: 40 mins out of UBUD on a desolate small road
No pick up from airport, left stranded by hotel told to catch a taxi or wait until 10am next morning- I arrived at midnight.The villa smelt of mildew, all linen was damp as was my clothes in the cupboards in the morning. The roof leaked,( it rained daily 2-3pm, The reception roof was leaking flooded daily. No internet, No credit card facilities, Swimming pool was Brown green- Broken. Luckily my superior suite plunge pool looked OK, other superior villas pool was Brown. Mosquito coil too old had to buy mozzie spray and new coils. Kitchenette was in a mildew / moldy cupboard, small stove to go with kitchenette no gas provided. 500 stairs to reception. Faulty Lift- trapped for 10mins, no help had to get it to work myself. Staff had very limited English, but were exceedingly friendly. Meals delivered were good quality but usually not hot due to distance from kitchen. Staff not always there to answer phone or network cover not available
4 out of 5
by jennifer from Australia - WA - Perth

Posted May 8, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Private pool overlooking the jungle
Cons: Advertised as ubud but is actually payangan
Location: Too isolated, 30 mins out of Ubud
Facilities: Distinctive; Value: Great deal; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Pleasant; nowhere close to buy food or drink and no restaurant ... amazing hideaway but be prepared to be isolated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kym_Theo from Australia

Exceptional View!! not so great room...

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: The view!!! Amazing
Cons: Dirty and so many stairs
Location: 45 minutes from Ubud in good traffic and about an hour and 15 in peak hour traffic. Very Steep roads through the mountain.
This hotel has a fantastic view!, although there were a few things quite disappointing about it. The hotel is at least 45 minutes from Ubud (misleading from the description). There is also a very STEEP road to the villas which is quite terrifying to say the least, but the driver was great though and obviously does it about 20 times a day. There was quite a bit of confusion about our booking and the language barrier didn't help.. it ended up getting sorted on the day we were due to fly out out! Be prepared like others have said, there is a lot of stairs - at least 150 from our villa and it is quite the trek to the lobby. Be careful in the rain, getting to the rooms as there is a lot of moss over the stairs and it was really slippery. The room service was nice but was a bit cold when it got to us. The villa view was amazing but unfortunately it was quite dirty. The air-conditioning broke while we were there and was leaking behind the bed. It was fixed but the water wasn't mopped under the bed and on inspection there was mould everywhere (obviously it had happened before - many times). The hotel staff were so lovely though always willing to help and never expected to be tipped but we did anyway. All in all it was a nice stay but I wouldn't call it a 4 star hotel. Its a 5 star view but a 2-3 star stay. We probably wouldn't go back again unfortunately. I hope this helps.
5 out of 5
by Vera from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Feb 7, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: The remote location
Cons: The road to the hotel
5 out of 5
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andre

Posted Aug 22, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: Stunning Views, Ex
Location: A bit far Narrow road
Facilities: Basic; Value: Affordable; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: Clean;
4 out of 5
by Nathan from New Zealand - Bay of Plenty

Posted Aug 17, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: The peaceful serenity of the tropical forest in the middle of nowhere and the infinity pool overlooking the forest!
Cons: Housekeeping lacked a bit, the canopy over our bed was filled with dead bugs and air con dust, not pleasant to look up to at night
Location: Nice position
Facilities: Above average; Value: Affordable; Service: Respectful;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Geoff from Busselton WA 6280, Australia

restful paradise

Posted Aug 5, 2012
Amazing, restful, relaxing , a view that is just spectacular.We were in a villa with private pool which is the way to go. Its not like 5 star in New York for instance and if you expect that well you wont get it, but the cultural experience and incredible rainforrest like valley location with a breathtaking view out over it more than compensates. Your edgeless pool runs over the near vertical drop (the villa is perched on the edge of a valley), we stayed 5 days and only went into town once, the villa was too relaxing to leave. Not the place for action as it's an hour drive into Ubud, no wifi and no tv reception....it didn't matter, you don't need it there, we loved it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic Place

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels
This is a great place.. totally beautiful, but a little far from Ubud. The hotel does offer a shuttle service, so I think it would a great place for a romantic couple who love quiet and also want to see the beauty of Bali.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential but poorly maintained

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels
Despite being in a very very remote location, the free shuttle service and great views more than compensate. However hotel is very poorly maintained. Many things did not work in our room when we got there. Overall, more cons than pros.