Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by jonathan

Beautiful place

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Staff are very helpful and go out of their way to assist in any way they can. Beautiful pool and view over the rice fields. I went with a friend and an extra bed was made available but very uncomfortable. Ideal for couples.
4 out of 5
by Allan

Quieter value hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Good value hotel away from the bustling tourist Mecca.
5 out of 5
by Lee

Fantastic hidden gem within beautiful setting

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Our first stop on our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more pleased with the Samara. From meeting our driver at the airport which the hotel had arranged the stay was perfect. The Samara is about 15min walk from the main road in Ubud in a picturesque setting of the padi fields. It feels like a different world each time you return. The hotel offer a great moped shuttle service with a courtesy mobile provided to call for pickups when you don't fancy the walk. The room was very modern and keep perfectly cleaned daily with and evening turn down service too. The included breakfast included everything needed to get you set for the day from the beautiful open air restaurant with stunning views. Best of all the staff at the Samara were all exceptional and friendly making the stay extra special. Would highly recommend to everyone going to Ubud!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent, very quiet hotel overlooking rice field

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The quiet location. Very attentive staff who provide excellent service. Very quiet aircon. Complete room facilities incl wifi.
Cons: Light sleepers may be disturbed by the continuous but low level noise from the in-room fridge.
Location: 15 mins (easy) walk from centre of Ubud. Countryside walks. Restaurants on Jalan Kajeng.
This small hotel is situated 400m from the end of Jalan Kajeng and the hotel provides a motorbike transfer for luggage and occupants. It can also be reached on foot. The motorbikes are available to provide an foc transfer to Ubud situated one km away but also very walkable. Very quiet location, the only disturbance coming from inconsiderate occupants. Very cooperative, friendly staff who will do everything within their power to help solve a problem or provide information. Excellent breakfast. Afternoon tea/coffee provided foc if required. Fully equipped rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Highlight of our trip to Bali! Amazing!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The staff! The food, the beautiful surrounds, the pool and the room.
Our stay at the Samara was the highlight of our 9 days in Bali. We stayed in Ubud the whole trip and did the first part 'in town' and the second part out in the rice fields/ village at The Samara. So glad we chose the Samara as it was so beautiful and relaxing, whilst only being a 10minute walk back to town or a 2 minute free scooter ride. The area around the hotel is stunningly beautiful and walking through the surrounding village is very interesting with lots to see. The staff at the Samara were amazing and made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The food at the restaurant was very good, we tried the breakfast lunch and dinner - all very fresh and tasty. The wonderful cooks even made some off-the-menu dinners for our kids. The driver used by the Samara (named Ray) was truly amazing. He was very helpful, spoke very fluent English, knew lots about everything we wanted to know! We did a couple of day tours with him as well as the airport transfer, with our baby and toddler in the car and felt very safe. Absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling in Bali.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Perth

Lovely boutique property

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at The Samara last year and came back for another 5-night stay. The Samara itself is ideally located just north of Ubud's main street (Jl Raya Ubud) surrounded by rice fields. There are only 6 rooms (three sets of 2 adjoining rooms)which makes it a good experience in terms of getting to know the friendly staff. The rooms are fairly small, with not much room for your bags/cases. The bathroom is a good size with an outdoor (walled) shower. The air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool - we had it set on 17 degrees (Celsius)all the time whereas we would normally set the temperature to 23-25 degrees. The bed was quite springy - you could feel the coils - but we slept okay. We were in room 4 which got the morning sun so the room was light early each morning. Rooms 1, 3, 5 should get less early morning light. Nice choice for breakfast, good wi-fi and a reasonably sized swimming pool are good features. For me - I'd say 4.5 out of 5 overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Seminyak stay

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Having not been in Bali for 20yrs or so & stayingbin Seminyak for first time. I enjoyed staying at The Haven hotel. Its a little further from the heart of Seminyak but notjings really that far i guess. It was value for money, very clean, staff lovely & very accomodating & breakfast nice. Id recommend to a ftiend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2016
The hotel was very welcome and they provide scoter service which was really nice and the location is beautiful.
5 out of 5
by lambert from noumea new caledonia

little paradise

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
Juste 3 perfect days... crew very kindly smily and always happy and ready tout make you confortable Excellent place out off noisy Ubud steet Sure we ll comédie there next trip!!
4 out of 5
by Alvin from Singapore

Best stay in Ubud

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Had a 3 nights stay over at The SAMARA. It was defintely a throughly enjoyable experience. The hotel grounds though small in size is located within the lush greenery of paddy fields which provides a cosy and intimate feel. Great customer service provided by the staff as well as both the owners, Stefano and Yudi. Had an excellent seafood dinner which was recommended by yudi. All in all, it was a great stay in this lovely hotel and i will defintely do it again if going to Ubud in the future.