Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

NOT A RESORT AT ALL

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Good staffs
Cons: Provide more options to reflex resort and spa classification and TV for purposes of information dispensing
Location: Quite location but lack nearby attraction like eateries especially local fares. Have to travel to visit areas of interest
Hotel doesn't provide basic toiletries especially toothbrush/shaver set . There is no TV in room. Wifi basically is on/off at room area Walkway towards room is slippery due to moss growth. Food is average
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 Star!

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Easy Shuttle Service.
The hotel is noted as a 4 star but the reality was quite different: -The bathroom floor is very slippery. Not a big deal until someone falls and seriously injures themselves. My kids kept on slipping and I had to lay towels all over the floor. -In the middle of the night, there was a bat flying in my bathroom! -Lots of roaches in the bathroom. I asked them to clean it up, they must have sprayed while I was out. Once I came back, I saw numerous dead roaches and had to clean them up, myself! -Staff consists of many trainees who do not speak English. This was not a big deal, but then there was a gas leak and someone came to our room to say "gas leak", we could not understand anything else. I expect that the older/perm staff members handle such situations. -I wanted breakfast with no bacon, but my dish came with bacon. The waiter (trainee), took out the bacon with a fork. I explained that I can not eat this because the food has touched the bacon....this was very hard to explained. In these situations again, I expect the older/perm staff to take care of the issue. For a 4 star hotel, this was not run in a 4 star manner. The trainees are relied on too much for all tasks and with their limited English it makes it hard for us to communicate basic things. There is a major cleanliness issue. I will not be going back to this resort.
5 out of 5
by Olga

Nice cozy hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Nice cozy hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slightly off the main area which was probably good

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: It's interesting character and art work.
Cons: Hotel staff could be improved ...
Location: Location was slightly off the main area with a steep hill to walk down and no footpath on a lot of the way.
Food wasn't as good as it could have been. Hotel staff were inclined to do their own thing regardless of your instructions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great ambience

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
beautiful rooms and grounds in typical balinese style. is noticablesigns of aging that could do with a refresh. excellent free wifi. staff friendly and helpful. free shuttle into town as the hotel isnt in walking distance to central
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
very tranquille
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Heaven on earth

Posted Oct 25, 2016
We stayed just 2 nights at Sungu but we felt like we were two weeks there. Extremly relaxing. Ideal place to get rid of any stress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect for our family of 5

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Enjoyed our stay at Sungu. Located away from the busy town of Ubud but still within easy walking distance. Resort also offers a very convenient transport service in and out of town when you need it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

looks online can be deceptive

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
very average hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel location in Ubud

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, free area shuttle, spa treatment, relaxing pool, friendly staff.
Location: On the same street were cafes, bars, restaurants, convenient stores, and a few clothes shops. Everything you need for close proximity when needed.
The hotel was very pleasing and at a great location within walking distance to town, the staff were always pleasant, the free area shuttle service was useful and the room was always clean when we returned. The only bad thing about it I can think of was that the shower was cold and one of the bedside lamps didn't have an on/off switch and the cabling looked unsafe. Though after notifying the reception, they had electricians come fix the lamp almost immediately and also informed us the shower took 15min to warm up which was better then no hot water at all.