Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West London

Upgrade

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: My husband loves the golf course, gym and swimming pool also very good. Lots of Europeans guests, we liked that, particularly hearing French .
Cons: Please go back to the Doue Egberts coffee you were using maybe a couple of years ago at breakfast, it was wonderful, not as good now.
Location: Beautfiul countryside, the town of Lewes is well worth a visit, Tunbridge Wells also fairly near and great for shopping.
We were upgraded to a suite, the regular rooms are a really good size but our suite this time was fabulous, incredibly spacious with lounge area and circular balcony, wonderful views over the golf course.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Large Hotel in nice location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location and airconditioning
Cons: Somebody to help with luggage and a more welcoming attitude
Location: 6 miles from Glyndebourne
Comfortable hotel with airconditioned rooms. It all felt a bit impersonal though and no offer was made to help us with our luggage
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Top hotel in quiet location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Location, reception, staff, rooms, pool & gym. Bar staff - Dan was a credit to the hotel spending time explaining wedding packages to us
Cons: Not much just maybe better bar food menu
Location: Hastings & Eastbourne
Spent two nights at this hotel and would recommend. Fantastic hotel reception area that wouldn't look out of place in Dubai. Staff extremely professional and nothing to much trouble. Spacious rooms decorated to high spec.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Julie from London

Lovely hotel poor service

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel unfortunately let down by service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Have already booked to return.

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Staff made us feel very welcome and were more than helpful. The facilities were of a high standard as was the food. We enjoyed the jacuzzi & swimming pool to ourselves. We had booked another hotel for a night in June which was double the price but having been here we have just cancelled it & rebooked to return here.
4 out of 5
by stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by JULIE from Cowbridge, South Wales

Worth a visit

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful surroundings, helpful staff with great facilities.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Surrey

New Year at the East Sussex National

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is modern, but starting to show signs of lack of maintenance associated with new(ish) builds - there were lots of very visible vertical cracks in corridors. The room was tidy, but attention needs to paid to the window areas, etc. The spa was one of the main reasons for staying there. The gym area is comprehensive with adequate machines and floor area. The pool is substantial compared to most hotel pools, as too is the steam (which for some reason was steamy but was cold – weird!) and sauna. Being there over the New Year period, the spa closed early on New Year’s Eve and opened later on New Year’s Day. Its revised opening hours coincided with the revised breakfast timing and the check out period, so you couldn't do both. Another drawback for staying when we did was food - or to be precise, lack of food. On New Year's Eve, we went downstairs for dinner at 8pm, only to be told that they had stopped at 7pm! We were advised that this was due to an event they were hosting, of which we were not a part. We were offered us bar food instead. There were plenty of lost opportunities to advise us of the change in timing. This is not what I would expect from any hotel. We spent the next ½ hour looking for a open restaurant - no mean feat on New Year's Eve. If you like peace and quiet, the hotel's location is ideal, as it is in the middle of nowhere - provided that you can find it! Depending on which direction you approach the hotel from, there is limited road signage.
3 out of 5
by Steve from Southampton

A very disappointing stay

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately our recent stay at the East Sussex National wasn't as good as we'd hoped it would be. While the hotel itself was in an excellent state several small issues compounded to make the stay, overall, a disappointing one. Housekeeping was an issue - on arrival our room (304) had a large bundle of hair, similar to a tumble weed, located under the desk. Despite numerous requests to reception for removal it remained for the whole trip. Also on morning 2 housekeeping removed our towels but forgot to replace them which was quite inconvenient. Food and drink was also an issue for us - every single morning the breakfast order was incorrect that we simply gave up trying. We also had appalling lunch where we ordered some sandwiches, which arrived burnt and the chips were stone cold. We were given some free fries by way of apology...not really acceptable given the cost of food here. The local area has everything you could need with most things being a 10m drive away though there is nothing in the immediate vicinity of the Hotel. Having stayed at several golf resorts over the last few years I'd rate the East Sussex National as the worst of the bunch, I definitely won't be returning.