Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Quite Expensive Hotel In Urgent Need Update

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The public areas were as we expected of hotel this standard, elegant and fresh flowers foyer. Perhaps rooms third floor may be of better standard?
Cons: The guest rooms and bathrooms second floor need urgent renovating. Management seem to have "couldn't care less" attitude and badly need improve
Location: Palace precinct excellent as so much to see in this area eg. Crystal Museum, Palace Museum, Lake Pichola.
As so highly rated by previous guests, a heritage hotel and part of palace complex, we were really looking forward to our three night stay. Given two rooms on second floor. The rooms and bathrooms were in terrible state with ghastly stains on all the chairs and the mattresses to recline on in dovecote windows. The rooms were in bad need of paint. The bathrooms were ghastly and in desperate need of an update. We asked management if we could change to better rooms. They showed us two other rooms on second floor and they were just as bad. They did offer a Suite provided we were willing to pay an extra 20,000 rupees each per night. At that price was not an option so we stayed three nights in original rooms. If we had not fully paid rooms some weeks before our arrival we would have walked out there and then. It really seemed to us the management could not care less as they made no apology or offer viable alternative. Some junior Staff more helpful and one young male employee in particular very kind to take us on walk through palace precinct to show us the building where pool and restaurant for breakfast located. Pool although in palace precinct was few buildings away from Hotel. We asked Hotel to organise driver and car to take us to Airport on day of departure. A hotel of this standard usually provides decent hotel vehicle but this was basic taxi with no seat belts for passengers. Most expensive hotel we stayed in, in India, with the worse rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Needs a total revamp.
Location: All the cool stuff is in walking distance
The hotel staff was tentative, the view of the lake awesome, but the hotel is very run down. You will read this over and over in reviews on TripAdvisor. The room had a smell but we dealt with it. Searching for switches to turn the lights on or off was a challenge, some were located 1 foot off the floor and others were in locations that you would never expect. The rooms were poorly lit. There are only two better hotels in the area, but this one has the best view and is closest to the sights. We knew going in that this would be a low budget hotel with a high price, we stayed for the view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and the location is superb. Overall everything was perfect except the room was a bit dated - for example - the window wood trim was rotting, the electrical outlets were loose, etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible ecperience

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: pls clean the room
dirty room, uncomfortable facilities, terrible hotel staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Along the Lake

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Orbitz
It was wonderful!!! The view, the staff, the food, promptness, and the ambience were a plus. This place is located within the palace complex and it is so close to the boat ride. Even though, I had rainy weather I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I felt so secure on my own palace.
4 out of 5
by Nitin from rajnandgaon (c.g.) india

royal affair

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
the room was toooo expensive.... much better options were available... and the food menu was too short.. a very few dishes to offer... the rooms were very nice but comparing to the value it was not good..
3 out of 5
by Kathleen from NYC

Udaipur Holiday

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautifully located but the amenities were just not up to par. Old decor, bedding and the tube tv were really disappointing. Lovely breakfast, but check in staff definitely need an update.
5 out of 5
by ravi from New Jersey

Awesome quick getaway

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
Went for two nights with my wife for a quick getaway. What a great place. Awesome views by the lake. Taj lake palace right across. Part of Lake palace. Very tranquil and serene. Best part was the breakfast and dinner at the sunset terrace. Sitting outdoor by the palace overlooking the lake and the beautiful view was a breath of fresh air.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

mixed feelings about this hotel.

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: great location, see above. also sunset dining area and the views as well as food and the services is excellent. no complaints there. great breakfast.
Cons: see details above.
Location: see details above.
it is a good hotel, don't get me wrong but in my opinion it is mixed pros and cons. I would like to go a little bit in detail so that other people can make informed decisions. pros - location, location, location. nothing can beat this location, right in the heart of city palace. everything is in walking distance. no doubt about it. crystal gallery, city palace, boat ride jetty etc everything is right there. it is quiet. no pollution. beautiful views of lake pichola. cons - it does not give you a feeling of palace at all. very narrow small entrance, very short ceilings, nothing palatial. no wow effect at all. just a routine hotel. also there are two types of rooms. only the premium devokote room has a nice gallery where you can sit/ stand and enjoy the lake views. but the other room has a very small window that goes out a little bit. only 1 person can sit there to enjoy the view, that to also you need to sit, you can not stand. so the photos that are shown on the website can be deceiving. if you are getting a good deal - sure it is worth staying here, but during the busy season if the prices are spiking up - I would rather choose Taj or Oberoi etc. you are going to spend a lot of money anyways. in other words - I am not sure the very high price is entirely justified by the location. there are other options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fashionably Distressed Palace in perfect location

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Pros: the moment they open the doors to your lakeside room revealing the drop dead gorgeous views to be remembered forever.
Cons: It will be better when the new reception opens on the lake level.
If you're travelling to Udaipur, you're here to see the lake and the Palace right? Then why not stay right there next door to the Royal family and spend some time just gazing out the window to the lake and the magnificent Lake Palace. It's not your standard 5 star boring international hotel, it also not the most modern but it is charmingly idiosyncratic and fashionably dishevelled. You will also be well looked after by the consistently polite and helpful staff.