Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing location but disappointing room

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Within part of the City Palace, this hotel enjoys a fantastic location - and you pay for it! However, the standard room was disappointing and breakfast was distinctly average. If you can afford a suite then go for it otherwise I'd suggest that can better value for money elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Royalty all the way

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: A glimpse of royalty
Cons: Room could have some royal embellishments,small somethings that add that special touch that dont make it feel like the cheapest room in the hotel
Location: Situated on the banks of lake Pichola.Nearby are the city palace,Moti Magri,saheliyon ki badi etc
A standard double size room with a separate wardrobe/changing section and big bathroom with marble flooring throughout.Room has a standard double bed,coffee table,fridge,lcd tv with cable connection,2 sofa chairs and a work desk,access to free wifi.The room has a panoramic view of the city due to situation of hotel on a high vantage point. Restaurant food was sumptous with a choice of dining at The Paantya or the terrace with lake view of adjacent Fateh Prakash palace hotel.Breakfast is complimentary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish but outdated

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Good location
We enjoyed staying in the palace but the rooms were run down. Staff was friendly and helpful though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good staff!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Incredible experience -- really appreciate the staff who were very friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good hotel within City Palace grounds.

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: The grounds, quiet location and dinner at the restaurant (poolside). The (free) wi-fi was very strong and worked well.
Cons: Train the staff to stop anticipating tips, it's very irritating to the guests. Encourage the use of the tip box at reception.
Location: Located within grounds of the city palace, so convenience tours. A short walk to the main town, although not as close as other hotels.
The Shiv Niwas is within the grounds of the City Palace. Staying here is a nice experience as you feel part of the palace itself. The hotel gives you a pass to show to the guards at the gates to the city palace to facilitate entry to the hotel. You must have this pass with you otherwise you can't get in. The city palace gates close at 11.00pm so effectively there is a curfew, but that didn't impact on me. The hotel grounds are splendid and the room was large and well appointed. When I stayed there were not many guests so the much acclaimed buffet breakfast was not on offer. Anyway, guests ordered from the menu which was included in the room rate. I had dinner at the Restautant one night and it was of a high standard. However, I did feel that hotel staff were always waiting for tips. This is a general comment from other reviewers too and it is very evident. There is a tip box at reception which is a much better way to go. I felt there was a definite expectation for tips. The cleaning man even waited outside my room when I checked out and reminded me he had cleaned my room every day. This is a minor issue but it can be irritating. I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Well locate Hotwl with lots of character

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Great location in the City Palace good for site seeing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Memorable atmosphere and ambiance

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: The courtyard is a lovely place to walk after dinner. The bar is beautiful and atmospheric. The Rajasthani food was super
Location: at least 2 days worth of activities in the city palace complex itself. we stayed in Udaipur for 4 days and there was no dearth of activities.
We had a room upstairs (we might have been upgraded but i am not sure). It was spacious, overlooked a lovely expanse of trees where green parrots and numerous birds lived. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable - we have bad backs so were very grateful for the comfort. The bathroom functioned, plenty of amenities and all well stocked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Dirty white towels are now beige!

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Cons: Must up date the bathroom and buy new towels!
Location: Next to City Palace.
Huge room! But the bathroom needs renovations! Will not recommend it to no open. Maximum 2 star hotel located in a luxury sroundings!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing experience, Heritage stay

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Heritage experience
Cons: Staff
Location: Sun terrace restaurant is a MUST visit during evening sunset.
The property is still owned by the Royal Family, which stays in a portion of this Palace and rest is available for guests. The Royal suite, is very spacious and right on the lake pichola. The view from the suite is mesmerizing, and early morning and late evening view is worth the cost. Everything is in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Real Palace Charm

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Old palace charm with majestic suits and comfortably located inside of the city palace.
Cons: The terrace suit we first had needs some upgrading to get back to 5* level.
We booked Shiv Niwas as highlight of our India trip and to celebrate the birthday of our little daughter. Originally we booked a terrace suite which turned out to be a little small for a family. It is advertised at Expedia with 80sqm of space and can accommodate up to 4Pax. But most of the space is actually the terrace. It is a wonderful terrace but the remaining space inside of the room is rather cramped for a family. A short while after having addressed our disappointment about the room space to the manager at the reception we have been offered to move into a bigger imperial suite. The imperial suite is really majestic and turned our disappointment into enjoyment. Our birthday girl felt like a princess at her birthday not only due to the fantastic room but also due to the flower bouquet and chocolate cake provided by the hotel staff. Big thx to the hotel manager for turning this situation around.