Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Alster

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Staff is friendly, but construction ruins stay, to find parking is a fight, not very clean, breakfast buffet is good but room is small so no privacy as tables are close to each other, location is nice, next to park and Alster River, but beware of bumps, beautiful city being ruined by graffiti...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
I arrived late, but the staff were great. The room was beautiful and the 1930's elevator was amazing in my view. The restaurant below the Hotel was gorgeous. It had a real rustic feel and a trendy vibe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positiv feedback. We gladly welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards Stefanie Schröder Manager
4 out of 5
by B M from Berlin

Great hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
The 20m2 rooms are quite small, little space for a large suitcase and small bath. On my second stay I got a free upgrade to a larger room with couch and bathtub, which was fantastic! great high ceilings and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in stylish neighbourhood

Posted Nov 12, 2015
This was a great hotel with helpful, friendly staff. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, with a balcony offering a view over the lake. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location/building, disappointing service

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The location of the hotel is lovely, right on the lake, and the building beautiful. My room was large, well appointed, with period features and very clean. I loved the old lift, still at its 1910 state! However the service was disappointing in several ways. The reception staff was not the friendliest, and one one occasion I was ignored for 10 minutes, without even a glance or a "I'm sorry, I will be with you shortly". I filled the form in the room requesting for extra amenities, I received only 2 out of 3 of them. Breakfast started at 7 (already it's quite a late start, especially if one has business appointments) but actually the buffet was never fully ready before 7.10-7.15.....so I had breakfast every day accompanied by the noise and bother of the buffet being sorted, and having to get up multiple times to fetch the various items arriving late. Definitely a bit shoddy for a 4-star hotel of that price. All in all, definitely above average, but not up to expectations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The hotel was in a lovely setting, close to restaurants and bars and with a good view of the lake. When I stayed it was for a business trip but the restaurant was closed for a summer break which was a bit inconvenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel on the Alster

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Room facilities
Cons: Staff friendliness
We booked this hotel for short break in Hamburg and wanted to stay fairly central but still have a nice view. The location is great - the bus stop is a few minutes walk but a 20 minute stroll along the Alster also gets you right into the city centre. The hotel room was comfortable and quiet and a nice mix between the older tradition building and modern fixtures and fittings. The room wasn't overly spacious but was more than adequate for a short break. Breakfast was good with an adequate range of foods available including some vary pretty and delicious cupcakes. The only reason we didn't give the hotel a 5 rating was due to the fact that when we arrived the man on the desk although friendly was not a regular member of staff and after getting me to fill in the form simply gave us the key and told us to go to the third floor. The hotel as an old fashioned still lift with a key to operate and it would have been nice to be given some help. The receptionist on check out also was not overly friendly - I would have expected to be asked if everything was ok or something rather than simply handed the bill. Language was not a problem as I speak fluent German. Another small issue we had was that the bar/bistro was closed on Saturday due to a party and there was therefore nowhere for us to enjoy a drink before going out which we would have liked to do as we were meeting friends at the hotel for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price, interesting style

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
Big rooms, old high ceiling style, renovated quite nicely but don't expect any luxury. Good breakfast included.