Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Looks like Washington heights in NYC. Very homey

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Had a personal driver pick us up from airport and take us directly to hotel. Cost 29euro for about a 40-minute or so ride. He was very professional and a good driver. They do not have reception but Agnes was there and very helpful, she was a previous tour guide and showed us a map and drew on what places to see. Myself and my colleague don't mind walking so we walked everywhere but there are buses. The place is next to a huge mall,very simple to get too. That is about it for things near it though. You'll need to walk or catch a bus or cab to downtown. Took is about 45minutes to walk downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH, USA

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Evergreen Guest House turned out to be a great choice for me. Though I didn't explore, I think it is located in a residential building. Stairs are required to get to the level of the lift. The building was spotless and polished. Registration & my room was on the 2nd floor. Both the building and the GH have secured entries. There's a small community area with self-service teas and coffee as well as a computer to access. My single was nicely furnished a decorated for comfort and functionality. Bathroom was en-suite. I loved the extra large windows in this old building, opening them for fresh, cool air in the evenings. The complimentary breakfast is about a 1/2 block away in a local restaurant. The plus is that there are options to choose so long term guests aren't eating the same meal every morning. I really liked the restaurant - tasty food, filling breakfast, pleasant staff and cute environment. I either took the tram (about a 10 min. walk) or simply walked into the CBD. The architecture throughout the walks were so fabulous that I didn't usually mind the walk (though I was there during a cool, rainy week). As a solo traveler, I maintained alertness returning to the property in the evenings (there's a sex shop on the street and some questionable bars), but I NEVER saw, heard or experienced anything that caused alarm. I would stay here again and would recommend to others. You get a LOT for your money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget option!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Single room met all my needs. Small staff hospitable and friendly. Breakfast at local restaurant- very good and friendly. Filling options. Location is good with short walk to many types of public transportation. Tram 2 is about two stops from parliament. At 40 euro a night, this was a great value! I would highly recommend to a budget traveler.
5 out of 5
by CHRIS

Nice friendly place

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Nice friendly place and good location near train / metro station and all at a good price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was acceptable, but I think for what you pay is on the expensive side. If you use to stay in hotel rooms it feels strange. I don't think I will be staying there again. I don't think I will be staying there again. I think for the same price there are other places in Budapest that are better
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A warm and friendly place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this friendly B&B for our last two days in Budapest. When we tuned up in the morning at the door we were a little uncertain that we had made a good choice – the B&B sign was hanging outside a rather dilapidated building. But we needn’t have worried. Once we were in and had climbed the two flights of stairs (there is a lift from at least the 1st floor) we found the B&B to be a warm and friendly place on the second floor. The owner/manager was very welcoming and we were able to leave our cases before checking in later in the afternoon. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with all the facilities we needed. Coffee and tea could be taken (free of charge) at any time in the communal room. Breakfast is provided at a café across the road (except Sundays when it is in house) – it was nothing fancy but quite adequate. We dealt with another two members of staff during the time we were there and both were very helpful and friendly. Evergreen is located just outside the main centre of Pest but within walking distance of the centre, the River Danube and Buda as well as Margit Island. Alternatively there are lots of trams and busses that pass close by. There are also plenty of eating establishments nearby (our favourite was Lecso), as well as supermarkets. It seems to be in an area still mainly frequented by locals but with a few tourists about. We did NOT feel unsafe at any time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phuket thailand

great value with a lovely welcome and local hospit

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
lovely stay. lovely welcome very friendly owners. thank you
5 out of 5
by Michelle from NewZealand

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed staying here. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic, clean and conveniently located room to vent

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
cordial welcome at agreed time (late evening) and smooth check-in. basic, clean room. breakfast at nearby cafe (popular with locals) was of good quality. located close to subway. from 8pm till 8 am free parking on street. were lucky to find spot even at B&B entrance, but noticed several spots still walking distance.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Leeds

Clean pleasant guest house

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
make sure you ring to make arrangements for arrival times. Very pleasant helpful owner. Lovely clean room with communal coffee/tea making area. Very nice breakfast which is included in the tarif but you go over the road to a cafe which is in partnership with the guesthouse.