Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Broughty Ferry, Dundee

Motel in Ullapool with recommended seafood menu

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful owners and staff.
Cons: Total refurbishment of the rooms - at least the room we were in (#5). 'Seafood' that didn't consist overwhelmingly of fish or come in a heavy sauce.
Location: Motel's location away from harbour has nothing of interest. Harbour and marina are charming, located in lovely scenery.
This was recommended because of the seafood on the menu. The dinner was disappointing in part: the monkfish was excellent but the seafood thermidor contained one prawn (not langostine as described) and one scallop. The rest was a mix of white fish and salmon. None of the other seafood items available consisted of a mix of shellfish (without a heavy sauce) except a cold platter which, on a cold evening, was less than appetising. The room was very disappointing: twin beds foot-to-foot in a long, narrow room with tiny en-suite WC and shower, which neither of us used as it was not at all inviting. The feeling was that the room needed totally re-vamping for the 21st century. This is a family concern (or, husband and wife, I assume). The owners - and the barman - were very solicitous and friendly and we were given a lift down to the harbour when we left in the morning. There was an expected power cut while we were dining and several candles, tea lights etc. were provided in anticipation. When it happened, we were happy to stay after dinner and have a couple of drinks rather than return to the dark room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Burton from Nova Scotia

Great restaurant in a dated hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
This was actually a good stay. The service was excellent and we were happy to be able to do laundry at a very reasonable rate. The room itself was too small for real comfort. The best feature was a superb restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WARM WELCOME AND QUIET

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: The food is much better than the eateries in the centre.
Location: Ullapool is a lovely place but most people stay around the harbour. This hotel is a little back from the sea front and is very quiet.
This is not a modern hotel but it is very comfortable and quiet. The owners are very friendly and approachable. The dining room lacks a bit of atmosphere but the menu choice is excellent as is the food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice food, but small rooms

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
+ nice food in the restaurant. a really attentive waiter / cook for breakfast - the rooms are old, small and cold. With a little restoration it could become a really lovely place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mattia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by glyn from wigan

great stop

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
stayed for two nights this is a MOTEL and used it as a stop on a motorbike holiday, this is great motel for bikers. good food nice bar friendly staff short walk into town highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chelmsford, essex

Perfect for a break in a long journey

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Suited our purposes brilliantly - clean, cosy, comfortable, powerful and hot shower and very close to the river walk which, if like us you have an energetic dog, was a godsend. The staff were great - very friendly and couldn't do enough for us in terms of saying where things were. Obviously it's meant as an overnight stop off and it served that purpose very well. I'd certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christina from South Australia

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly. Good customer service . Recommended by locals for meal .. Not disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels