Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to the sea with land train to Umag

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Spacious and clean with nice areas to sit outside
Cons: There was no area visitor information in English at the hotel that we could see at the time
Location: Whilst we found some nice restaurants with lovely views in the area there was a restaurant called Luna on the road to Umag that was very good value.
We arrived early in the season (mid May) and before all inclusive was available hence it was fairly quiet. Generally the staff were very helpful and I guess some were new for the season and just getting to grips with their roles. Hotel was clean and tidy. Many of the local restaurants, facilities and trips etc were yet to open fully so a hire car was a must at this time of year to see the sights etc. Rovinj, Porec,Novigrad,Limski fjord, Pula Coleseum and Lake Bled (Slovenia) were worth a visit.
4 out of 5
by Lisa from Danmark

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Se have a good holliday in sol aurora i. Croatien very Nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Not a great stay

Posted Sep 26, 2014
With the exception of Victoria on reception who was excellent the majority of the staff clearly did not want to be there. Particularly a very stroppy blonde curly haired waitress in the dinner hall who went out of her way to be rude. Sunbeds were saved from the early hours of the morning so there was no chance of you getting one in the sun. Most of them were in shade by 12 o 'clock. We had to pay for a bed on the beach instead. There was a marquee put up in the grounds of the hotel that had music blaring until past 3 one night. The music was so loud it was vibrating the glass in the window pane! We did move rooms after the second nights ridiculously loud noise but you could still hear it. If we didn't have war plugs we would not have slept. The food was fine, although slightly repetative but this is what u expect from an all inclusive. The area of Umag is defiantly worth a visit, very few English people there though so if you like a conversation with others don't go. Croatia it's self is beautiful and I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Family from Slovenia

Nice vacation

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed a few days in a hotel. It is nice and clean, good food and great location,very close to the beach. But if you have a room with sea view it will be very loud at night. Staff are friendly.
5 out of 5
by CS from NY

Fun place

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful location and friendly staff. Food tasted great but I am an American and was not ready for it. Id recommend not going crazy your first day or two. I took some swim goggles and there is actually a lot of fish around in little reefs that was awesome to see. Great place for kids.
5 out of 5
by Kathleen

very Helpful Staff

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Melia Coral ultimately because we needed an extra night. The staff were extremely helpful. We do not speak Italian. We came to Umag to visit relatives who speak very little English. The staff were extremely helpful calling and translating for us over the phone on more than one occasion. The only negative was trying to get hot water to shower. We wasted a lot of water waiting for it to get hot. It only got warm. Other than that, the room was fabulous!
3 out of 5
by Dafydd

nice location

Posted Jun 4, 2012 on Hotels
Stay was ok. Not all inclusive we were told that didn't start till 1st June! Good location but hotel dated. Would stay in area again but not this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maribor,

The Hotel Sol Aurora in Umag, CRO

Posted Sep 22, 2011 on Hotels
We have very nice vacation. Thx again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice, Italy

Hotel Sol Aurora- The Worst Service in Croatia

Posted May 5, 2010 on Hotels
This hotel was terrible. Firstly, there was no "All Inclusive" deal. They told us when we checked in that the deal was for later in the summer and that we were not entitled to dinner, drinks, et cetera. On the whole, the service was the worst I have seen in Europe, let alone in the three times I have visited Croatia. Prices in the city and hotel were hyper-inflated & the owners were shameless in over-charging tourists for mediocre food. The reception desk at the hotel could not assist in the simplest task, we asked three times for extra towels and they failed every time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hants

Would use again

Posted Sep 15, 2008
Reception staff were very helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Restaurant service was a little bit like a college refectory, mainly self service and queuing at busy times. The food was "honest" but not inspirational. Nice bar and terrace. A great beach location. The facilities looked great but as I was on a business trip I didn't get time to test out the beach or pool! I would stay here again as overall ity offers excellent value for money.