Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton, alberta

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Nice staff, clean and tidy.
Location: The location nears subway station which provides good accessibility to most great shopping areas.
No air conditioning since November 16 because of winter schedule. So, we open window for air ventilation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by New to Int'l travel

Inexpensive, but claustrophobes beware

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Orbitz
The room we had was small. I suspect the hotel serves as a getaway for young couples, lovers, and....... The police presence on streets nearby surprised me. There were several decent restaurants in the area and a grocery store 2 blocks away. When out for dinner in the neighborhood after site seeing elsewhere in Osaka throughout the day, I counted at least 10 police officers stationed in about a four square block area. I didn't notice that anywhere else in Osaka, but population density in the retail areas and canal district beyond is about 500 times or more greater than the Sun Life neighborhood. Most of the staff spoke English well enough to assist us with directions. Lobby is nicely furnished. Nearby (2 blocks away) access to the Osaka subway system , which is excellent. Dotonbori retail area is only about a 10 minute subway ride away. But the room was about 80 square feet, not including the tiny bathroom. I would only recommend this hotel to friends who are confident that they are not claustrophobic. I've known backpackers and campers who would get anxious in their tents. The same could happen to western guests who are not familiar with what passes as the norm for economy hotels in other parts of the world. You can get to know Buddha.
5 out of 5
by Mylene from Phils

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels
It was excellent for us. Because it is a small hotel but the quality of hotel service was excellent and the staff are very supportive in terms of lending me a adapter and weighing scale. Well done and keep it up! :)
3 out of 5
by JC from England

Fine but overpriced

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was OK, and functional, but was very expensive for what it offered. I could have stayed in a hostel with the same facilities for much cheaper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is absolutely fine if all you're after is a bed and room for short period of time. Room quite small so not one for sitting around in!
5 out of 5
by Wendy from China

Good hotel: good location & good room

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels
I traveled alone to Osaka in July 2013 and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. I could not be more satisfied! The staff were very friendly. They don't speak perfect English but enough for all hotel service and they do try to help. My single room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. Everything needed is provided in the bathroom and changed every day. The hotel is very close to subway station (2 min walk from exit 1), and is very close to downtown. Really good location and easy access.There are convenient stores near the hotel. Basically, I was very satisfied. I would stay there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ku from Taiwan

Small room

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels
Small room and bed, for only one night, just bear it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from New York, NY

Great for smokers and nonsmokers on a budget

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: Proximity to "chikatetsu" (subway) A few pretty good ramen and udon restaurants nearby
Cons: size of the rooms - but unless you shell out lots of money, you're not going to find large rooms in Osaka.
I traveled as a single, non-smoking student to visit one of my friends in the Osaka-fu area. With price being of the most importance to me, I settled on Sunrise Hotel. It is in a great location - the Chuo and Sennichimae lines, which are incredibly useful and also connect to every other major line, are within 2 minutes walking distance. Definitely not a really lively area, but that was fine with me since Nanba, Shinsaibashi, Kyobashi, and a ton of other places are easily accessible by subway. The staff was friendly. I speak pretty decent Japanese so I never experienced whether or not they spoke English, however. My room was small but clean. There was always a faint scent of tobacco from rooms that allow smoking, but as long as you're in Japan, you're always gonna smell that since smoking is permitted pretty much everywhere. A maid came in every day around 11 am to clean to room too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to metro station, convenient

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels
well the price is competitive, but the room is not clean.the location is quite convenient, not far from the downtown.