Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right Next to UT-Martin

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Softer Beds, Better Breakfast
Location: Right next to UT-Martin
The Hampton Inn is right next to UT-Martin. We were down there to visit our daughter who is a student at the University. The staff is friendly and prompt. The price was decent. The room was clean and well lit. My 11-year-old daughter enjoyed swimming in the pool. It's close to everything. Overall it was good but not great. Things to improve upon: The bedding is nice, but the mattress itself is almost rock hard. I had to take one of the queen duvets off the unused bed, double it up on my bed, lay the extra top sheet across it in order to soften up the bed. A nice pillowtop bed would be very welcome. The breakfast is disappointing. The scrambled eggs look good, but they taste like powdered eggs - yuck. The breakfast sausage isn't regular brown sausage in patties or links but rather thinly sliced traditional rope sausage. Not terrible, but not the sausage I was expecting. Yogurts are half-sized portions. Coffee is decent. Having stayed at quite a few Hampton Inn's in various locations over the past 6 years, this seems to be a downward trend for the entire chain. The breakfasts have definitely been trimmed back on quality and quantity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenton, Tn.

No air

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Central unit went out at home, Joana helped my family get comfortable quick efficiently.Thank you so much to all the staff for making our 2 days away from home, with three children a comfortable stay! Lynne Tate
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Nice hotel. A little noisy and quite expensive. It was ok. Don't want to write anymore. Do not have anything else to say. Noopooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting UT-Martin

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: I liked the fact that it was right next to the University of Tennessee at Martin.
Cons: Please offer a breakfast of real eggs (not powdered or microwaved) and bacon/ sausage on real dishes (not paper) with silverware (not plastic).
Our family of 7 visited the University of Tennessee at Martin. Our oldest daughter is considering studying there. The hotel is directly next to the University, which is very convenient. The hotel was clean and well lit. We didn't get there till late, around 11pm, but that wasn't a problem. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bedding soft. One very minor problem was that the shower curtain was too short for the curved shower rod, so it had a hard time staying inside the tub. Otherwise , it was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was with the breakfast itself. The breakfast entrees were a 'western omelette quiche' and ham. Both were inedible. There was only one waffle maker, which took 3 min at a time to make one waffle. This caused a major traffic jam. Paper plates and crummy plastic forks, knives and spoons might save money, but they don't make for a nice breakfast. The rooms were nice. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Cons: There were no chairs in the room other than a desk chair
There was no place to sit in the room other than a desk chair or the bed. A small couch or a chair was needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice room

Posted Mar 17, 2016
We stayed for two nights during a ball tournament. The room was very nice and very clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stay here the next time I come to town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comments on stay

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Message light came on three nights in a row at 3AM. Eggs were cold every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Decatur, Illinois

Nice hotel close to our indoor race track

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Was nice to get in a clean hot shower and comfortable bed after racing all day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: It was clean, comfortable and pleasant staff
Location: We were traveling the area in search of civil war sites and this location was conveniently located
Nice hotel and easy access to major roads, conveniently located.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older facility--needs improvements.

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: No refrigerator or microwave. Fitness center was not usable.
The staff was friendly, but the hotel had an odd smell and was old. The rooms were listed as having microwaves and refrigerators, but neither did. The fitness center equipment was so old, it was dangerous. They should either replace it or close the room. The upholstered furniture in the room was dirty. Overall not a bad place, but worn-out. A little tlc would make a huge improvement.