Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fenton, Michigan

A very restful stay!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
We were looking for a get away for the weekend not too far from Chicago. We stayed for the first time at the Garden Grove and were pleasantly surprised! We received personal communication from them right away about our stay. When we arrived, we were personally shown to our room and were shown all of the amenities that were included. We were served a delicious and filling breakfast each morning. It was close to the happenings of New Buffalo as well and only about an hour away from Chicago. It was a great weekend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant but needs a few upgrades.

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was enjoyable and quiet, the owners were friendly and shared valuable information about the area. Breakfast was served on time daily to the room. We were able to use the free bikes provided to explore the area. The garden and grounds were lovely to look at. The drawbacks were the small tv, that was not a flat screen,no separate thermostatic controls for the cooling, stained toilet seat and grout.
5 out of 5
by lisa from Baltimore

A Perfect Spot by Lake Michigan

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Wish we could have stayed longer! We were here only one night, on our way to Wisconsin, but I could have stayed a week in this beautiful little B&B. It is like stepping into a midwestern paradise--it is less than a mile from the beach, and the sun doesn't set until nearly 10 p.m. in the summer. Great room, huge bath with a jacuzzi, wonderful breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016
Hi Lisa, Thanks for the kind remarks in your review. We are please you enjoyed your brief stop with us in Harbor Country on the way to Wisconsin with Olivia. We trust you will have an enjoyable few weeks there and a productive experience with her writing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
Despite the cold weather, we immensely enjoyed our stay in SW Michigan, largely due to the beautiful, cozy and relaxing B & B and gracious hospitality of Paula and Jerry. We will recommend the Garden Grove to anyone looking for a special retreat from the business of everyday life. We will be back again some day!
5 out of 5
by Maggie from UK

Great accommodation and hospitality

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Its emaculate facilities, quietness of location and a room with a balcony overlooking the garden
Cons: In my view nothing needed improving.
Location: Close to fantastic sandy beaches; restaurants, wineries and antique shops.
Friendly, knowledgeable hosts. Facilities emaculate. Fantastic omlette for breakfast. Quiet location but close to Interstate and Highway, beaches, and restaurants. Good off road parking.
5 out of 5
by Steve from UK

Great stopover from o'hare

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels
Great room, wonderful breakfast, very helpful and welcoming hosts. Fine restaurant called Timothy's nearby. Perfect for what we needed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by carolyn m.

Impeccable

Posted Nov 14, 2012 on Hotels
Well suited to a relaxing weekend! Peaceful, comfortable; extremely well kept. The hosts were very accomodating. Breakfasts were nicely done. The B&B was warm & cheerful.
5 out of 5
by Robert

First time at a B&B

Posted Oct 1, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed one night in the Garden Retreat suite. It is in a separate building behind the main house. The room was wonderful, beautifully decorated, bright, and inviting. The bed was very comfortable, breakfast the next morning was "heary" (as described by owner/cook Jerry, and it was), check-in and check-out were simple (even though we came in very late at night). We went down to the lake and walked the beach for a while after breakfast, and then stopped at two of the area wineries on our way out of town, and enjoyed them also. I would definitely stay here for a weekend next time!
5 out of 5
by Linda & Quadrea

Posted Aug 12, 2012 on Hotels
Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The sleeping room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. We loved the toiletries. The owners were helpfull and attentive but not intrusive. Ther location was perfect--right off interstate 94 , 1/2 mile to the beach, close to restaurants, winery, and New Buffalo. I just wish the sleeping romm had a bit more sitting space and a larger T.V. We will definitely return.