Ratings based on 3,449 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Hyatt Union Square San Francisco

Posted Apr 20, 2018
The hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful especially the concierge who gave us some great recommendations about activities and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and clean although there was no lock on the bathroom door. In addition, when the light in the bathroom was on, it lit up the entire room so we got woken up in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but a little sketchy outside

Posted Apr 15, 2018
We loved the hotel. The front desk staff were welcoming and friendly. The lobby is modern and beautiful. The rioom and view were great. I only had one very negative situation. When my family and I were coming back from dinner, a homeless man asked us for money just outside. When I said no, he spit in my face. It was so shocking, it really took me off guard. I’m just glad he didn’t get our son. I know the hotel can’t control that, but when I told the front desk staff, they didn’t seem particularly upset by it and gave me a tissue and sent me on my way. I was surprised how aggressive the homeless population were just around the hotel. I would suggest havin hotel staff or security outside to help avoid this kind of problem. I’m still a little shaken but other than that, the hotel was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location; Staff training is needed.

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Pros: Bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Staff training is required
Location: Nice location and close to Union Square and China Town.
Staff was polite in front of you but I heard they said something bad after they serve the customers e.g. laugh for the bad English, no tips, etc. By the way, they charge $5 handling fee for package handling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern VA

College Reunion Girls Trip

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Pros: location, location, location!
Cons: the elevators - 5 isn't enough for a hotel this size
Location: scalas italian is very nice & convenient. we ended up ending dinner there 2 nites. lori's diner is a must for breakfast/lunch - just around the corner
there were 4 of us who went on a reunion trip from ur freshman dorm back in the '70s. Had a great time. Hotel is nice and very centrally located to where several tours meet up, shopping, the cable car stops, restaurants, etc. the elevators are a problem - there are only 5 (not nearly enough) and they are slow. if you have to run back to your room because you forgot something - it's another ten minutes before you're back downstairs. I would have given my ratings 'exellent' in some categories if not for this. hotel bar is nice but was disappointed that they no longer had the rooftop lounge from when I first stayed here about 12 yrs ago. Not surprisingly, hotel bar prices are very high but service is good and food is too. service across the board is very good at the hotel from the concierge to housekeeping to doormen, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Great hotel. Good location. Onsite dinning limited for choice but lots close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Very convenient location and clean, comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by TT, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

great experience

Posted Apr 9, 2018
The hotel was a good location for vacationing in SF, close to lots of attractions. Room was very clean and staff very helpful, particularly concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by TT, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location. Your compliments on the service provided by our associates is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Very nice hotel within walking distant to AT&T

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Will be using this hotel in the near future, enough fluff without over doing it.... close to AT&T Ballpark! Thank you Grand Hyatt!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by TT, Hotel Management
Thank you for the perfect rating! We look forward to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Apr 8, 2018
This is a lovely hotel in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by TT, Hotel Management
It is great to hear you enjoyed the location. Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful hotel in central location

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Pros: In nice area of town. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly.
Cons: Water is complimentary upon request so we have to ask for it every time. Why not leave some in the room for guest convenience?
Location: Shopping, dining, cable car ride, cable car museum, chinatown, fisherman wharf
Clean, modern, in heart of union square next to Apple store and all the shops and restaurants. Spent 5 days with kids, great for family. Short walk to Powell street cable car. Will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by TT, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a wonderful experience with us and enjoyed the location. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future!