Ratings based on 4,277 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Great pool!

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Great location, helpful staff, and cool, old historic charm. The pool was fantastic, but you might want to bring your own towels... there weren't any by the pool!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located near Union Square

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness of room and comfortable beds. Politeness of staff.
Cons: Valet/garage attendant afternoon we arrived had no people skills and he was our first impression of hotel. Very disappointing.
Location: Right around corner from Union Square!
Stayed one night, room was very clean, beds very comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in union square

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Stated in the new building. Very nicely updated with high ceilings and balcony. Close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2018
Old foundation but modern amenities. Kids enjoyed the hotel as much as adults did
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
great experience. nothing more to say. we were happy with the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic, but nice!!

Posted Apr 9, 2018
We stayed in the oldest and original building of the Hotel facing Geary. A very comfortable and nicely renovated room and bath in this historic building! A bit of an issue with the room A/C initially; however after letting staff know, they seem to resolve it and we were comfortable for the duration of our 3-day stay. Our room was extremely clean and the entire property seemed well maintained. Being attached via the interior corridor to the "Daily Grill" was handy for dining; all three-meals. We would stay here again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lodi, ca

Posted Apr 7, 2018
The Handlery is a classic, very consistent stay. It’s convenient when staying in union square area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Location

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Great location. Best bed by far this trip. Great restaurant just below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Had a wonderful time and would come and stay at this hotel next time I’m In the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good location. Reasonable price.

Posted Apr 1, 2018
We stayed for 3 nights. Very good location, staff helpful and friendly. Bed was comfortable, room was small but satisfactory. The restaurant was over priced, but lots of other restaurants close by.