Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location, beautiful lobby and rooms, the bar was great as well.
Location: Union square, close to subway, Broadway also very close
Loved the location, close to everything and Union Square is beautiful! The hotel is lovely with many amenities and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Mary, Warm greetings from NYC! It was a joy to host you and we thank you for your outstanding review. Your appreciation of our welcome and the amenities provided elates us, we are thrilled that your time with us was such a delight. We hope to have the pleasure of your return again soon. All the best, W Union Square
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Not a great first impression

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Bathroom is old and dated. Carpet was very smelly and musty. Housekeeping was really poor. This was our first time staying at a W hotel and I was quite disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, We thank you for sharing your review and are thrilled that our location impressed. We regret that other aspects of your stay fell short and your comments will be shared with our Style Department to ensure that our scrupulous standards are being maintained to the enjoyment of all of our guests. We thank you once more and hope to have another opportunity to wow you on a future visit to NYC. All the best, W Union Square
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel is a bit old and tired. Carpet in our room was stained and a bit icky looking in general. General shabbiness to the room, in addition to being gloomy and dark. Bathroom was clean when we arrived but daily cleaning not up to par (hairs left on floor and, on closer inspection, really dirty corners. We booked for convenience of transit (just blocks from subway) but I'm not sure it is better than other locations. Restaurant has excellent breakfast but pricey. Overall, expected so much more for a W property (and a hotel generally).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Greetings from NYC! It is always appreciated when guests provide a review as it is chance for us to see what is adored, and where we can elevate the guest experience. We are thrilled that our location impressed, providing a local flavor while in the heart of the city. We regret that your room fell short and your comments will be reviewed with our Style Department to ensure our scrupulous standards are being applied for the comfort of all of our guests. We hope you will choose to settle in with us on a future visit and allow us another opportunity to impress. Until then. All the best, W Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent Hotel and Staff

Posted Sep 1, 2017
One of the best hotels I've stayed in New York. The rooms are specious and clean. The staff is so helpful and friendly. I'll be staying there every time I am in the area from now on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Carrie, Your outstanding review was adored by us all! It was a pleasure to host you and your appreciation of our hospitality is a joy. We hope you will return to join us again soon. All the best, W Union Square
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Bed sheets uncomfortable

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Uncomfortable beds No help at doors No automatic door open
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Greetings from NYC! We thank you for sharing your review but regret your stay fell short. Your comments will be reviewed internally to identify opportunities to elevate the guest experience. We thank you once more and hope you return on a future visit to allow us another opportunity to impress. Until then. All the best, W Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel. Great location and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Tommy, Greetings from NYC! We thank you for sharing your fantastic review, and for your appreciation of our welcoming hospitality. We hope you will return and join us again when next passing this way. All the best, W Union Square
4 out of 5
by Nathaniel

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Guest We thank you for sharing your score and we hope you will return to join us again soon. All the best, W Union Square
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

My new favorite hotel in NYC.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location. Price. Staff.
Cons: Our toilet seat was very old and the finish was peeling off.
Location: Green Market, Mad Square Eats. Whole Foods. Movie Theater. Republic Noodles.
I am in love with this hotel. Our room was large, quiet and very clean. It is close to Union Square subways, playground and Green Market. You can walk to Shake Shack, down to the village or across to the Highline. Free coffee in the morning and cold water waiting for you at the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Niki, Your review headline totally won our hearts! We are elated that our W hospitality made such a warm impression and that our exceptional location helped make your New York City visit such a joy. We are honored to be the home away from home for many returning visitors to this great city, and we hope we can now include you as a new friend. We thank you and hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, W Union Square
5 out of 5
by Tresa

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and very comfortable and clean hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Tresa, Greetings from NYC! It was a joy to host you and we thank you for sharing your outstanding review. We are overjoyed that you were so comfortable during your stay and hope that you will join us again soon. All the best, W Union Square
5 out of 5
by Burd

Great location, Great stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at the W in NYC at Union Square. Everyone was very helpful and kind. The room was nice and clean, the bed was comfy and of course the W has lots of fun and funky touches. It is also close to the subway and we likes that. The neighborhood was great with pleanty of places to eat nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Burd, We are thrilled to have provided such a legendary experience and we thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review. Your comments regarding our W Talent are most appreciated and on behalf of all of us, we hope to welcome you back to our vibrant and bustling neighborhood one day soon. All the best, W Union Square