Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Comfortable, clean hotel! I wish the breakfast would have been included for every guest...it's hard to catch a quick breakfast before leaving for the parks. For the money, a $4 continental breakfast would have been nice. Also paid extra for a microwave that didn't work...staff kept giving us the run around about getting one that worked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Amazing hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was in a superb location. It overlooks the lake.
Location: City walk is open late, there is always something to do in day and at night. There is never a boring moment.
We recently stayed at this hotel during 11th -13th August whilst we did the universal experience. The hotel was faultless, they staff were extremely helpful. We had a room that over looked the garden which was spacious for the 5 of us (me,my husband, twin girls 6years and boy 3) It had two queen bed but was enough room for the 3 children in one and us in another. The hotel offers a free water taxi to universal city walk every 15mins and it takes no more than 8mins to travel there....you can walk should you wish. NOTE: The water taxi's do not run when a storm is approaching or during one. When staying at this hotel you get an express pass for the parks which gives you priority to ride. I would highly recommend using this option. It enabled us to go to our favourite rides multiple times. We didnt manage to get to the pool for the day but it looked nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Worth the price

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Highly recommend staying here. The convenience of getting back and forth to Universal and City Walk was worth the money. Staff was extremely helpful. Sal's Market is a great place to stop after the park closes. Poolside dining was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Luxurious experience & Relaxation after Long Day

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The way the hotel staff communicate with the guests via text was innovative. They are friendly and provided excellent customer services. This hotel is located within walking distance from Universal Studio Florida which is about 20min, however, the Water-taxi experience was superb. I could take beautiful pictures of Portofino Bay hotel from the water. After the long day at the park from 8am-9pm, it was the most relaxing hotel that you could imagine to come back to. Staying on-site in Portofino made my entire trip to the Universal so enjoyable that makes me want to come back next summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Well designed and maintained hotel. Easy access to citywalk and parks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

All about that Express Pass

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: I really like the atmosphere and Italian theme. Room was very clean, quiet and comfortable.
Cons: There could stand to be more hot breakfast option available on site. The only one we found, while delicious, was very expensive.
Location: Excellent location to Universal Studios and many nearby (offsite) restaurants and stores.
Planned a visit to Universal Studios and chose the Loews Portofino to stay at because I loved the Italian theme and because we wanted to stay onsite for the Express Pass. The Express Pass made the difference for us. We never waited more than 15 minutes in any line and got to ride our favorite rides many times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice hotel but a bit pricey

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Hotel is nice but a bit pricey. I would expect a bottle of water in the room at $400/night. And it lacked in activities and nightlife when I was there, so it felt a bit sleepy. Also, other hotels in Orlando have places to eat that stay open much later, which we always needed since we come home from the parks late. The express pass and early access pass at universal were the best features of the hotel. We went to universal two days and had early access and skip the line passes which helped a lot. It was a nice place to stay just wish it offered more for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Peaceful, unique, charming getaway with lots to do

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Peaceful, unique, charming getaway that still has lots to do. Staff both inside at the guest services such as check in as well as outside by the pool with the lifeguards and grill are among the nicest people you'll ever meet. It's all about satisfying your needs! Lots to do but still peaceful and calm hotel. Relaxing and luxurious and fun all at the same time. Highly recommend staying at one of universal's hotels. The boats that take you to and from the parks are great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Very upscale hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Very clean and quiet. A short walk to Universal parks and a boat that goes every 10 minutes back and forth. Nice pool and plenty of places to eat. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Posted Jun 1, 2017
This was my fourth stay at Portofino Bay Hotel. I really enjoy my stay and my kids love it.