Ratings based on 1,669 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

This is a Motel, not a Hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2018
I don't usually leave reviews but I'm writing something today in hopes of saving others from wasting their time and money. If you want a cheap motel room for the sake of having a roof over your head for a night, this place will provide that. If you want a nice hotel room to enjoy for an evening, keep looking. The walls were dirty, the room smelled like stale cigarettes, carpets were gross, bathroom was dingy and gross. I honestly felt gross just sitting on the bed. My boyfriend walked over to see the Jacuzzi after checking in and there was a layer of what looked like algae and fungus growing in it. We ended up leaving, I couldn't imagine getting a restful night's sleep laying in that room. Mikado "Hotel" should either spend the money to renovate their establishment or should seriously consider renaming it to Mikado Motel. As a side note: I use Expedia for all of my bookings and have always been happy with their service. We called Expedia from the room and told them we wanted to cancel the booking. The "hotel" refused to refund the money however Expedia acknowledged my years of customer loyalty and did everything they could to remedy the situation. The supervisor I spoke to refunded the room and did everything he could to find us better accommodations locally, and even threw in a bonus complimentary gift card to make up for the poor experience. I will definitely continue to use Expedia for all of my bookings but will not be returning to Mikado "Hotel."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great place for the price.

Posted Feb 14, 2018
The room and the staff and the overall condition of the hotel are much better than the outside appearance may let on. I was very disappointed that the restaurant and bar are no longer open. The free breakfast was a nice feature but it was nothing to write home about, very simple and basic continental breakfast type. This hotel was great for the price and a good location for me for the business I had to attend to in LA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Awesome experience I will definitely be back on my next trip to cali.... wonderful staff... great breakfast... great rooms... can't ask for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pilermo, Italy

Convenient

Posted Feb 11, 2018
The staff is accomodating, the rooms are tidy and the environment is lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Prime location to Universal, CSUN, shopping and freeway accessibility. Design of premise and building are very nice. Staff was very nice too. The complimentary breakfast, in our opinion was very poor. We have been there several years ago and the breakfast was far better. Maybe they are trying to save money. The wife and I went to a nearby restaurant for breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood Ca.

O.K.

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Is 5 mins away from Universal Studios. Easy access and differents kind of restaurants round it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, Ca

Nice hotel close to Universal

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Old hotel but very clean and well kept. Central location to Hollywood and Universal. Breakfast was adequate. It's right by the highway so can be a bit noisy on the back side.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sign to clean beadroom

Posted Jan 30, 2018
We back around midnight to the hotel and the beadroom wasn’t clean, reason was sign should be hang at front door, Nobody explain that
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Convenient to stores and restaurants and main stre

Posted Jan 25, 2018
Pros: Close proximity to everything I needed.
Cons: To update the facility.
Location: Was close to restaurants and shopping.
When I told the front desk that the water didn’t drain in the shower, I was given a $20 discount immediately and was told it would be fixed. That was quite thoughtful. I will be back to LA in May and will invite another couple to stay with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but dirty, run down

Posted Jan 23, 2018
This place is more like a motel, which is fine. I have no problem with outdated decor, interior, and somewhat rundown, but I am not ok with lack of cleanliness! There were marks on the walls/curtains. The bathroom could've really used some new caulking as there were several mold stains on the caulking on the ceiling and tub area. When I flipped over the soap dish on the sink there were mold stains under that too. It looked like they hired their maid services through some 3rd party vendor service, which could be why the sanitation quality was so poor. The only positives were: free parking, free wifi, and location to Universal Studios.