Ratings based on 1,273 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but noisey

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Pool huge and food good in cafe . However no fridge in room a big minus in hot weather. Biggest problem poor sound proofing in rooms so could hear every movement/ talking next door and above . Hotel has groups of young people who Sing / party in their rooms at night kept us awake
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient to family and very close to other events we were attending.
Location: We were visiting family so did not really take advantage of nearby activities.
Location was excellent. The pool and surrounding areas were relaxing, clean and pleasant. Food service was very good. The decor of the hallways could be more inviting, rugs appeared dirty and worn and the shower tiles in our bathroom were painted and badly peeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Hoped for better

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The pool was great.
Location: Location was great, lots of food places near by and a Ralphs across the street.
Started of disappointing, arrived at 1pm and check to see if we could check in and where told the room was not ready but to come back at 2:30. arrived back at 2:30 and was told check in was not till 3pm but our room would not be ready till 4pm. Had to sit in the lobby for 1 1/2 hours waiting for our room. Why tell us to come back at 2;30 and then give us a big speech to how check in is not till 3pm but don't get our room ready till 4:30???? Went down to the pool every day and had to ask for towels as there where never any available. This hotel charges $20.00 a day for parking so we parked off site. Rooms where ok but could use room safes as there are none .Back exit to the hotel was unlooked all the time and you had to walk thru groups of smokers to get in to the hotel. The pool was great to have but the hotel could use some work. Checked out with a zero balance only to be billed on my M/C for 3 different charges 3 days later. Wonder why so having to dispute the charges with M/C.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff lovely but facility less than advertised

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: the staff
Cons: Cleanliness, methods of payment (did not accept canadian credit card),
Location: good sushi
Room dirty, grime on shower curtains, carpet and walls. Bath did not work and water pressure lousy. Rented a fridge, which was covered in black mould. Staff lovely but one gets the distinct impression they are not paid a fare wage. Would never stay here again or recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Expected More For the Price -- but great staff.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of a lot of good eateries
Cons: Add fans to the bathrooms. Add outlets in the rooms. Change carpets. Improve security access to the building. Coordinate shuttle schedule w/ Uni Stud
Location: Very close to Universal Studios and the shuttle could be helpful, but need to better coordinate schedule with the park. Lots of good restaurants near
For the price, expected a lot more. The hotel is attempting to sell itself as a chic stay, but despite the modern décor within the rooms and lobby, management should invest some money to upgrade the overall quality to warrant the level of the price tag. No fans in the bathrooms resulting in warping ceilings and rust. Not enough outlets in the room for a party of four, not even to iron clothes in a logical location, especially when refrigerator was brought into the room. Awkward location of cabinetry in closet area didn't allow for easy access to hanging clothes. Carpeting throughout the building was dingy and old. No safe in the room didn't give a good feeling of security. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a shame the place itself doesn't have the quality as their service. Also, we were there for a visit to Universal Studios and were looking for shuttle service. It's unfortunate the shuttle service doesn't allow for mid-day return to the hotel and the last shuttle is prior to the new Harry Potter light show and prior to the park closing. We ended up having to use our car. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of a lot of good eateries which are better quality and pricing of the restaurant eatery.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, Ca.

Did not have a good experience

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The pool was the only nice thing about the hotel.
Cons: Staff could be more knowledgeable and able to direct people to rooms. Staff should be able to let delivery people up to the rooms. Everything!
Location: Went to the Dodgers game with is close by. Universal Studios is great as well.
My fiancé, his daughter and I were very disappointed in this hotel. When I reserved the hotel I was excited thinking I got a great deal. When I checked in I asked the lady working the night shift where we could park our car. My fiancé is on crutches due to a lost limb which I told her. He already had blisters on his hands from walking all day. She told me “well I could try and tell you where to park.” Try? Doesn’t she work at the hotel? Shouldn’t she know where to park to get to the rooms? I finally said forget it and I would stay parked in the spot in the front. I also did not see any handicap spots. I am sure they have them but we couldn’t find one. We got to our room and it was not very impressive. The carpet was old and the ac barely worked. For a room that is normally $300 a night it was not worth it. Since it was late and we had not had dinner so we ordered pizza. When the pizza guy arrived the same lady called up and said “you need to come get your pizza.” I asked why they couldn’t bring it up and she said “well I could try and tell them how to get to your room.” When he finally arrived at our room he told us she was not going to let him come up. He said he had never had this issue before. The final complaint is the charge of $250 for incidentals. I get having them hold $100 or so for each night you stay but for $250 for 1 night is ridicules. They have still not released it back to our bank and we checked out on Sunday. Also the ice machine did not work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We really liked this hotel, we will definitely be going back there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible service

Posted Jul 6, 2017
i stayed here last year and it was ok , but this time everything was the opposite and on top of all they charged me 18 dollars a night for parking plus service fee witch i don't know what for. i don't recommend this hotel to any one !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We booked two rooms and both were good. Hotel is older but they have put work into making the rooms look up to date. The pool is big and nice with a bar/food area. The only two bad things were when booking with expedia we booked a deluxe pool view and got a view of the parking lot, when complained I was told expedia does not pass that info and it would cost more. Second thing is there are no locks on top of door and with a 2 year old hrr could open it and go out, so they moved us downstairs (We are thinking for a room with the lock) nope just wanted us on the first level because we had a toddler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfy.lovely big,warm pool. Close to shops

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Very very very very very good all amazing!!!! Great pool very warm and big everything clean