Ratings based on 1,512 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paradise CA

Free Universal Studios Shuttle

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Location, staff, free universal studios shuttle
Cons: no gym, no laundry service
Location: Universal studios, great run area, shopping, downtown Hollywood not far.
This is a very posh, quirky hotel with great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old tired

Posted Feb 1, 2018
No ramp access. No microwave in room. Bathtub didn’ t function well:
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville, kentucky

Staff in every department excellent...

Posted Feb 1, 2018
1st Father/daughter/ Grandson Trip...nicest “California” Folks I’ve met at a hotel...made me feel like I was at home with my Southern Folks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

Hidden Gem

Posted Jan 31, 2018
I recommend a pool view. Been here many times. With and without kids and have always had a fabulous time. Clean, plenty of parking, pool is ALWAYS warm and clean, cocktails and snacks pool side is a must. Close to EVERYTHING.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: The location is great and the beds were great.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated and the lighting is awful. The rooms are not that clean.
The hotel is very dated and the walls between the rooms are very thin. We had to move rooms due to the noise level in the next room and they were speaking in a normal tone! It was as if they were in our room! The location is great, however, it is more like a roadside motel then a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on Ventura Blvd.

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Loved the location. The hotel is vintage. Easy walking distance to shops & resaurants. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great atmosphere, friendly and professional staff!

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Pros: Rooms, room service, great grounds and plenty nice parking!
Location: Studios, walk-of-fame, museums
Quite and clean rooms, pool was heated so the kids loved staying also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Last minute reservation so I hadn’t done any research ahead of time. I was apprehensive after reading some of the recent reviews but we went for it anyways and here’s what I will say in response to some of the recent negative marks here: Our room was very clean and well done-up throughout our 3 day stay. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The food was always quite good, and we ate at the hotel quite a bit throughout. Pool and poolside bar were great! Weather was fairly cool but pool and poolside heaters were quite comfortable. Heated pool and hot tub were immaculate. Location was quite good-lots to walk to. Zero trouble with the Universal shuttle-we changed our return time from the park and all went smoothly. One negative-maybe from the remodel but there was one suitcase stand and no other furniture besides a chair so we were a little limited on seating and where to put our stuff (there was a small closet) Tub spigot leaked. Otherwise we were happy with our stay! I stopped by the front desk when our keys stopped working and the engineer beat me back to the room-issue resolved in about a minute. They have plenty of staff and are clearly working hard at it. Worth a try and by the way, a rich old Hollywood tradition at this hotel so make sure to explore that if u stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Will NEVER stay there again

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Blow it up & start over. A lot of work needs to be done at this hotel.
Location: When there for a family function. Not at the Hotel. Else where.
NOT even a hello at check in. Room was to be ready early for me it was not ready. Lamp shade had a hole in it. Light bulb was missing. No Iron in the room for touch ups of clothes. Cracked & peeling paint in bathroom. Mold around tub. I do have pictures of all this! Carpeting in main room was dirty spotted with dirt has not been cleaned in a long time. Wore socks on my feet. Would not go bare footed. Screen falling off patio sliding glass door. SO BAD!!!! The Manager was to call me today. NEVER heard from her!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from studio city

Everything is in one place

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The stay was awesome. Restaurant, bar and pool bar. We didn’t have to drive anywhere