Ratings based on 992 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford PA

Downtown Oakland/Pgh

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great hotel in the center of the University of Pgh and the medical facilities! Just be ready to pay extra to have a car there. They charge $20 per day for parking! This pretty much negates any discounts available for this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malvern,PA

Not up to previous standards

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Location is great for visiting the U of Pitt, there are a few options for parking your car, the restaurant breakfast is wonderful!
Cons: Enough towels!!!!
4 guests in the room, 3 sets of towels. I called down for a 4th towel as soon as we arrived and it never came. I left a note ( and a tip) for house keeping the next day to please leave 4 sets of towels and I was left 4 towels, no hand towels, no washcloths. This is a pet peeve of mine, why can't a room of 4 get 4 towels?!! Also, and this is an expectation, there was no refrigerator and no paper or pen. These are niceties I have come to expect from hotels so it was noticeable that they were missing. And I have stayed here many times before and my expectations have been met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Close to Carnegie Mellon University

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We stayed here during a visit to Carnegie Mellon Univ for a tour. It's an 18 min walk there from this hotel and a 10 min walk to the Carnegie Art Museum and Natural History Museum. It's also a 10 min walk to the college town with plenty of restaurants and convenience stores. Perfect location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Walk or get free shuttle anywhere on campus

Posted Jul 14, 2017
A bit noisy but clean and comfortable. No room refrigerator in rooms. Still a value considering parking and not having to drive anywhere. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester County, PA

Practically touch the Cathedral from your window

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient for campus visits (Pitt, CMU, Carlow) & UPMC. Parking in garage right there, and can leave car through next day.
Cons: Room coffee is undrinkable; tea is ok. There is no complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby (although there's a prime spot on the mezzanine level).
Location: Campuses, UPMC, shopping, business, free shuttle, Schenley Park, museums, Carnegie Library--all at your door.
Room temp was 62F upon arrival; had to turn on the heat in July to raise it to 72F before we left for dinner. Doors are very heavy and, therefore, close noisily. Room coffee is terrible (think liquid cardboard); save your palate and walk down the street to Redhawke Coffee for a great cup. Inside pool is in basement and both deck & water temps are very hot. There is nothing closer to UPitt for visiting the campus; it's right behind Alumni Hall. Priced competitively but not exorbitantly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Downtown Pittsburgh hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
What surprised me the most is I had to pay extra for parking!!! 20 dollars a day is too much. Most hotels offer free parking!!! No buffet breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Downtown hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Parking was extra pay!!! No buffet breakfast!!! Expensive for what it offers!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and close to needed resources

Posted May 25, 2017
It is very close to the UMPC Medical Center and there is good shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Successful trip to Pittsburgh/Wyndham

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Our short trip was perfect. Hotel checkin was expeditious an we loved the shuttle service. It suited our purpose!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for PITT parents

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: early arrival rooms for ransom policy
Arrived at 12:30pm. I was told the room was ready, however it would not be released to us until 2:00. If we wanted the room we would have to pay $25. So basically they were holding an empty room hostage and the ransom was $25. Really????I thought they were in the hospitality business. That was far from hospitable behavior.