Ratings based on 1,858 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Great location next to UPenn but awful bed

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location, the front counter staff was also very cheerful.
Cons: Bed...the mattress should be replaced.
The best aspect of this hotel is the location. It is really close to transport and also walking distance to UPenn. One cannot imagine a better location if you have business in the university. The worst aspect is the double bed in my room on the 8th floor. It has a very noticeable dip. This is the worst mattress in hotels I have used in Australia, China Korea, Taiwan and America in the last year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Hotel close to upenn

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The location was great but the room was not very clean. There was tremendous dust behind the cabinets and I found a shirt from a previous guest covered with dust and grime. Staff at the front were nice but the concierge was very unhelpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Very disappointed

Posted Oct 3, 2017
This was one of the worst experiences in hotels through Expedia that I've ever had. Beyond discourteous, the staff did not accommodate us and failed to provide ANY hospitality whatsoever. I seriously worried for the safety of my underage daughter. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. (I'm currently working with SHERATON corporate to address the deficiencies of this hotel.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Excellent location near Univ. of Penn and Drexel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent Staff

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, layout, room, location, etc
Cons: more pastry, dessert options, lite meal, beverage, on-the-go options. Maybe a lobby snack bar or a high-end vending option stocked by room-service
Location: schools, good restaurants, etc
If Marriott is looking for someone that exemplifies there new "golden rule" ad campaign all they need to do is meet Ron at the front desk of the Sheraton University City, Philadelphia. His customer service skills are top notch. Friendly, knowledgeable, anticipates guests needs, etc. Every year I visit my daughter (at college) I'll stay with Ron.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC.

Nice Hotel close to downtown.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Clean close to downtown,.
Good Experience. Centrally located. They offered free coffee and tea. I thought the breakfast was to expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: Room was close to the elevator and was noisy,
Room was clean, staff was nice, location was great. Room was close to the elevator and was noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pleasant valley, NY

The only hotel in Philly that we return repeatedly

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Bedding is wonderful, staff is friendly and ungrades are always offered if they're available. You can't go wrong for university city!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's in the University City that's all

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: mentioned in my overall experience
We chose this hotel because of its location. there are two other very expensive ones nearby. I still recommend it because of this reason. although our stay is not exactly comfortable - comparing to all 7 hotels during our entire trip. The hotel facility is old and the room is on the small side. I believe there are better rooms, but for our stay, we got one that had the AC right next to one bed, a foot or so apart, and we had to shut down the fan so that the person sleep on that bed don't have cold wind blowing right to his back. on the opposite side of the room, there was a small door on the wall, about the size of a magazine - and it's not locked, and not even able to be properly closed. must be something removed but the slot not taken care of. we had to put a chair against it. it must be a busy season for university freshmen move in. However this room can be made more comfortable - for example, move the AC unit away from the bed, add a latch to the door on the wall, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Nice employees and service but facilities are old and worn. The rooms need remodeling.