Ratings based on 680 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great experience. Clean room. Attentive staff. Close to public transit. Quiet. Free wi-fi. Free calls. Free breakfast. Would definitely stay again. Having uber in Calgary helps getting around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very convenient if you visiting University of Calg

Posted Sep 9, 2017
A perfect place to stay if you're visiting the University for a few days. A few minutes walk to train that goes downtown. The room was super clean, bed comfortable and staff very friendly. The coffee machine in the room was leaking and once I let staff know it was replaced quickly. Get to breakfast early in the Alma Bistro for the continental breakfast buffet as when I got there 9.45 am they were short of fruit and yogurt bowls empty. Eggs were tasty and staff great in the bistro though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Magdalena Goss, Hotel Management
Thank you for your favourable review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Magdalena Goss General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Very clean room with comfy bed except the sink in

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I would stay here again it was centrally located as well as the animals that were around the hotel property were a nice surprise, the only complaint was the unorthodox sink in the bathroom it was from a dentist office way to shallow. Breakfast was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massacusetts

Nice hotel on campus

Posted Aug 20, 2017
The hotel is on campus and very nice. If you are visiting University of Calgary, I highly recommend this hotel. However, if you want to visit Downtown Calgary, it might be a little inconvenient unless you have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Excellent stay...one of the two elevators was not functioning, but other than that no complaints. Outstanding access to the University of Calgary and the many activities it has to offer. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient for the university

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Very nice room, very friendly staff. Can't really find anything to complain about.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park AB

In the end it was ok

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Met my nees. I attended a wedding at the hotel
Cons: I noticed that the washroom does not have a fan or a window. While there may be a valid explanation for this in my mind it does not meet building code
It took over 1/2 hour to find the hotel. Hotel has no big sign. Need someone to point you in the right direction. The address is of no help. Room was cold, with a cold breeze from the air conditioner directed towards the bed. Navigating through the thermostat I finally shut the fan off. Room was comfortable after that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A pleasant surprise!

Posted Jul 21, 2017
This was the last night of our holiday, and a pit stop before our flight home, so we picked what we thought was an 'OK' hotel based on the price and the reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised however; being on a campus is a bit odd, but the hotel itself was spacious, clean, modern, and had everything we needed. It wasn't far from the train to get into town either. It was better than quite a few of the more expensive hotels we stayed at on the remainder of our trip! Top tip - don't leave it too late for your free continental breakfast, some things do run out!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Small rooms but clean

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Close to the train and clean.
Cons: The breakfast was very limited and small.
Location: close to a train stop, U of C campus is nice to walk through.
The hotel was located about 10 - 15 minutes away from the C-train which is why it was chosen. The staff were pleasant to speak to but there was a heavy fan running in the lobby drying out a ceiling leak combined with the very thick accent of the clerk and I hardly understood anything I was told at check in. The breakfast was healthy but limited in choices. Hardboiled egg, yogurt and bagel, thank goodness it was included because if I paid the $14 they were charging I would have been outraged. The room was clean but surprisingly small, queen bed (extremely firm)that you have shuffle beside to get in, one person could be in the bathroom at a time, couldn't get out of the shower until the other person stepped out of bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointingly poor service.

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
It took me a long time to check in because the staff were not familiar with check-in processes, and were not clear on how much to charge me even though I'd booked in advance. They were also not clear about where parking was located and were unable to answer questions about the area. I was given a room next to a meeting room where people held meetings starting around 6:30 am, making it impossible to sleep past the start time of the meetings. The room was okay but the bed was hard and uncomfortable. After leaving I found that additional charges had been added to my credit card without my knowledge. I would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Alma Leader, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am sorry that your Hotel Alma experience was disappointing. We have recently hired our summer front desk staff and I am sorry that they seemed unprepared. Our front office staff service 3 buildings on campus, and it takes some time to get up to speed on all our guest services, although by no means am I making excuses. We set high standards for ourselves and our goal is to provide our guests with a great service. I would also like to apologize for the noisy meeting function, and the surprising credit card charge on your account, please feel free to contact me to have this resolved. Thank you, Magdalena Goss General Manager