Ratings based on 1,933 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Angry

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Weve stayed here before without issue but this time several things really frustrated us * four of us in a room but only had facilities for two. Despite asking numerous times for four towels, cups, coffee etc we ended up buying our own * thanks giving; hotel didnt make us aware there would be no food in the hotel over thanks giving which came as a shock to us on the day. 2 hrs driving around seattle we eventually found a mcdonalds open. the restaurant still hadnt opened two days later and hotel staff didnt know why. * car park; despite booking car parking space during our stay we returned one evening to find no spaces as they had sold the spaces to generate public for a football game and concert leaving guests to find other places to park. Overall the hotel is ok but the above issuea ruined our short stay this time around and I probably wouldnt stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Good, clean hotel. A bit noisey, but this is to be expected from an older hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem OR

Nice hotel next to UW. Staff were very helpful!!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Nice place to stay in Seattle close to UW. Staff were nice and very helpful!! Will stay here again!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane

ONLY OK, not what it used to be.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
I have stayed at the Deca several times a year for the past 10 years when in Seattle. Since it was sold a year ago, the rates have dramatically increased while most of the elements that made it our "go to" university area destination have suffered. Hardly a perk, we were told that room temperatures cannot be changed, heat is either on at a level resembling the pipeline from hell, or off. No Sunday newspapers for purchase, let alone complimentary. No customer loyalty recognition program or perks of any stripe. Even the references to its historic Seattle roots via pioneer Edmund Meany have been removed. It is as if the new owners bought it as a tax loss. The front desk staff remains excellent. While the Deca is still a good hotel when a deeply discounted rate can be found, it is no longer our first choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Rooms were a bit less pleasing than expected,with an odd lay out of the room and tiny bathroom.We were given a complementary "upgrade" to the same room we payed for but without a view of the city. Make you pay an additional 20$ per night for parking so that added to the price. Many good places to eat within walking distance.Overall not a bad place to stay but not everything we had hoped for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from olympia, wa

great hotel close to husky stadium

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: nice beds, nice clean room
Cons: maybe fridges in rooms
Location: easy walk to husky football stadium. mostly downhill on the way, coming back you get your workout in.
great hotel walking distance to husky stadium. nice size rooms, no fridges, even though it states there are. only bad thing I can say. beds were comfy, shower great w/nice shampoos & body washes. they took off the resort fee w/out us even asking, which was nice. parking a little spendy, but you're in the heart of the u district so expected that. will stay here again when we come up for a football game.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

I wish I had better news

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was professional and the room was clean. Great location.
Cons: Soundproofing the room, new mattress and ability to lower the thermostat
Location: On the main street near the University.
Great location, professional staff, the room was clean; however, impossible to adjust the temperature, only hot air came our of the vent no matter how low you set the thermostat, could not open windows to vent the room, on the 10th floor yet windows were thin so traffic noise was loud, the mattress was old and "springy". Paid for the room, the parking, $21, and yet they charged another $15 for "facility fee"? Whatever that is. Would not stay here again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Very convenient to UW!

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Room size was great and lobby large and comfy!
Location: UW!
Wonderful stay! Read mixed reviews, but our room was fantastic. Lobby and lounge were very comfy! Front desk friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Great hotel close to UW

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Long weekend trip to visit my son at UW. Easy check-in Clean room, comfortable bed Great coffee shop attached to lobby, great bar/food in basement Only issue was heat was turned down but room was still very stuffy but window opened which solved problem. Great friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
A nice place to stay. Great location. Everything on campus is within walking distance. The room was good size and the accommodations were all very nice.