Ratings based on 1,325 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East+Liverpool+Ohio

Close+to+Hospitals+

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My+wife+had+a+late+surgery+and+we+live+3+hours+away%2C+and+needed+to+stay+the+night.+The+Varsity+was+within+a+mile+from+the+hospital+and+very+reasonably+priced.+Staff+was+wonderful%2C+giving+me+directions+to+nearby+stores.+The+room+was+very+clean+and+the+bed+was+wonderful.+Only+complaint+rail+road+nearby.++Very+nice+stay+for+a+trying+time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for anyone who cares about cleanliness

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Location: This hotel is conveniently located next to Springhill Suites, where my friend and I checked in. Even thoug it cost considerably more, it was worth it.
After looking at a list of hotels near The James, where I was to have surgery, I reserved a room for my friend and me. Although ratings weren't stellar, they were mostly positively, and I figured that a hotel listed by The James would be a good choice even though, at the time, I didn't think about it being probably due to proximity. Plus, with my Expedia points, it would only cost me $25. After my friend and I checked in and went into the room, though, I discovered that it wasn't even worth that much. Just taking a look at the bathtub told me all I needed to know. It was covered with hairs. I figured that if housekeeping staff couldn't even take the time to rinse the hairs from the bathtub, who knew what else could have been neglected? Then we noticed that there was still water in the ice bucket someone had left. For all we knew, the room could have had bedbugs. Not a place where you would want to stay the night before surgery when I was required to use special soap that night and the next morning to make sure that I was clean enough. When we went to check out because I couldn't stand the thought of staying there, instead of apologizing for the condition of the room or stating that it shouldn't have been that way, the desk clerk told us that we should have asked for another room, as if it were our fault. Although I accepted her explanation for not refunding my money, since I had reserved the room fewer than 24 hours in advance, I didn't appreciate that response.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WAY NICER THEN THE LAST PLACE WE GOT STUCK IN

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: BIG FLUFFY BED NICE STAFF
Cons: ROOM WAS A LITTLE DIRTY
ARRIVED VERY LATE BUT COULDN'T USE THE POOL. WHICH IS ONE REASON WE BOOKED THE ROOM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and price

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Hotel was close to the highway, OSU, and downtown. It was just a $6 Uber to PromoWest and we could have walked to the Shoe if it was football season. For a quick overnight stay the accommodations were well beyond adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Worked out perfectly. Nice room. Near restaurants!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie Pa

Good

Posted Jul 16, 2017
It was clean my only problem was not enough amenities try serving at least a continental breakfast !!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Close to OSU.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Non-smoking room smelled like an ashtray. Staff emailed me and stated they would address it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Drapes we're falling down no hooks on one end, panels underneath were black they were so dirty, dirt behind the chair, molding in bathroom had dirt built up, check in clerk wasn't friendly at all, when I ask him a question he just pointed. Place was run down, and right beside a train track.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gr

Very dirty.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The shower curtain had mold all over it. Found a razor in the bathtub. Black hairs in corner of tub. A guy and a girl were passed out in their vehicle the whole night in front of our room. Found poop beside the handle on the toilet. When we were checking out we asked to speak with a manager and was told there was not one on duty. Sent them at least 5 emails and still have yet to get a response. I have photos to prove everything I listed here. I felt we should have gotten our money back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel with upgrades, very near OSU campus

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Have stayed here 5-6 times and will continue to for their reasonable rates and proximity to the campus. Beds and linens have been upgraded, so much better than a nearby Motel 6 with comparable rates, but still some service issues. Clock radio is almost always unplugged, or if plugged in, needs the correct time set. Don't like setting the clock at home, sure don't want to in a hotel. May be due to limited electrical outlets by bed, so unplugged by previous guests. Coffee maker wasn't emptied, coffee wasn't replaced, washcloth left wrapped around base of showerhead (condensation, dripping? Not sure why)...little things like that are annoyances, but aside from that, generally happy. And a comfortable bed is all I really need, anyway.