Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Myers, FL

Florida Evacuation

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The room layout, kitchen in the room, free breakfast.
Location: Near the University so lots of places to eat.
We had to evacuate from FL due to Hurricane Irma. Residence Inn Marriott allowed our pets to stay with us. It is like staying in a small apartment. They offer breakfast every morning, they even stayed open longer one day because everyone was just showing up at closing time. The staff was excellent and caring. The manager made sure to check on everyone during breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Eric K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Bed Bugs Beware!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The room did not look as nice in person as the pics but that was ok with us. We fled from hurricane Irma and felt lucky to find a place. After checking out I started to notice bites all over my legs, they turned out to be bed bugs. 4 days later and my legs feel like they are on fire! Avoid this place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Eric K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We do take incidents like the very seriously. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can discuss this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

The hotel was conveniently located.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We had a great stay at this hotel. It was conveniently located to the PNC Music Pavilion where we went to see a concert. Easy access in and out and the room was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Eric K., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff- very helpful

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice hotel. Spacious suite room. Set up like apartments.The hotel staff was so nice and helped me take my bags to my room and offered to switch me to a bottom floor when they saw I was traveling alone with my toddler. Breakfast was pretty good too
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Eric K, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am please that you my staff was able to take care of you. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by leonard

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
First room had water on the floor in the entire bathroom area but they promptly moved us to another room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. I understand how important it is that you room be exceptional upon your arrival, I apologize that it was not, however I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to address the issue immediately. This was an isolated incident that we have since addressed. I thank your for staying with us, and hope that you will do so again in the future. Sincerely, Eric Knesel General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Thank you for taking time you review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research park. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel just watch the bump!!!

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was clean and very comfortable. Was like a home away from home. Nice beds and a very good air conditioner. The entrance to the hotel has an awful slope though.....be careful not to bottom out and scrape a smaller car.... Was there for the iron maiden concert. I'm a mind my own business quiet type and I've got to say the locals around the town are very confrontational. The girls working in the Burger King next door were rude about all the people there for the concert... I was vaping an electronic cigarette outside my room next to the smokers pole and had a lady walking up the street asking if I was insane for vaping. Very nice hotel....any staff I encountered was nice....the neighborhood is just a little too confrontational
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team provided you with quality service. Unfortunately the current state of our entryway is due to the ongoing construction of the new light rail system that will connect the university area with Uptown Charlotte. I would like to apologize however for what you experienced with the "Charlotte Natives". Charlotte at one time was one of the most hospitable cities in the south, however as the city continues to be one of the fastest growing in the country, a newer more brash personality has arisen that has taken some of the charm out of our city. Our goal at the Residence Inn is to still provide you with that Charm and make all of our guests feel Welcome. We thank you again for your business, nd look forward to seeing you when you return to Charlotte. Sincerely, Eric Knesel General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. We are please to know that your stay was satisfactory. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Charlotte. Sincerely, Eric Knesel General Manager
4 out of 5
by Jamie

Awesome Room, Eh Service

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The room was spacious, and very clean. Had a nice private entrance. The only issue that I had was that the clerk that checked me in wasn't mindful of the fact that I had booked on hotels.com and I ended up being charged for the room twice. They reversed it when I noticed it, but the standard is 3-5 business days and I know for some that would have put quite a damper on their trip. When I brought it up, I didn't really feel like the lady that reversed the charge was apologetic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017
Jamie, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. I appreciate the kind word regarding our rooms and our hotels, however it appears that you did run into an issue with service, particularly regarding your billing. I understand how incorrect billing can affect ones getaway that is supposed to be an enjoyable time, and I apologize for the way this issue was handled. I will be meeting with this staff member to better to handle such situation going forward. I do hope that you will provide us with another chance to serve you the next time your return to Charlotte. Sincerely, Eric Knesel General Manager
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was awesome except the entrance to the hotel different from my I'd been to before. Other than that I'd definitely recommend this place