Ratings based on 909 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah, USA

Clean, comfortable business hotel.

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Pros: It is clean and easy to access.
Cons: It is not the hotel's fault, but the freeway road construction between the hotel and the Messe is a complete disaster right now (February 2018)
Location: Close to a bunch of shopping. 20 minute drive to Messe.
Hotel is quiet and comfortable. Rooms are practical and functional. Plenty of room, although the location of the suitcase shelf is not ideal. I couldn't open the door between the hallway and the bedroom all the way with my suitcase open. The free parking is a 100 meter walk from the hotel. The free parking lot is a plus, but it is a walk and in the rain, the middle of the lot becomes a pond. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Ate in restaurant for the first time and it was very good. I have stayed in this hotel 3 times, so obviously I feel like it works well. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Sales Trainee Lino Neumüller, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Gary, thank you for your review and the time you took for it. We are happy to hear that you had another pleasant stay with us and that our hotel staff and restaurant visit made your stay even more positive. Although we are sorry to hear that you had some trouble with the free parking lot and the suit case shelf. We would be happy to welcome you yet again as one of our guests. Thank you for staying with us! Best regards,
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Decent hotel away from the center of Munich.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the S-Bahn which made it convenient to get around Munich and catch trains out for day trips. The room had an upstairs bedroom and downstairs sitting room with a foldout couch. It was a little cozy for 3 people, but there was plenty of closet space so that was a plus. It also had a mini fridge--another plus. The bathroom was very tiny and poorly designed. The cleaning staff was hit or miss as to whether they replaced used up toiletries, kleenex, TP or coffee. The breakfast was a ridiculous price of 22- euros per person, which of course, we did not pay--luckily there is a nice bakery and stores nearby. It is a basic business chain hotel, so don't expect much charm, but it certainly met our needs for an extended stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by LSC, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, thank you very much for your feedback and the time you took for it. We are happy to hear that you had a decent stay at our hotel. Unfortunately we only can take renovation step by step at a hotel this size. Also our breakfast price is calculated by the expense for regional and only the best food which is very important for us to offer our guests only the best. We are sorry to hear that you hadn't had a charmed stay with us becaus we don't see us as a chain hotel because we always try to offer all of our guests a pleasant and great stay. We hope to welcome you as one of our guests another time. Thank you and have a nice week, Linda Schulze-Clewing Sales Team
5 out of 5
by Renee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

very quiet and clean

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, quietness
Location: we came for oktoberfest
this holiday inn exceeded my expectations. it was clean and comfortable, and the front desk staff is helpful. it was close to the train, and the parking is plentiful and spacious (usually they're a little tight). thank you to the hotel staff for letting me use the shower sauna when my room wasn't ready!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Susanne , Hotel Management
Dear tanya, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us! We are more than happy that you had a good stay and felt comfortable here. It seems everything was to your satisfaction! I am pleased to share your kind feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon at the Holiday Inn Munich-Unterhaching. Best regards, Susanne Müller Sales Representative
4 out of 5
by Martin

Great for the Price

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for Oktoberfest, a bit of travel to the venue but the 9 min walk to train station makes it really convenient. Price is really reasonable and very close to shops and restos around. Rooms are pretty small. It wasnt the Best hotel but it is not bad either. I would stay here again if i would go to oktoberfest.
4 out of 5
by John

Oktoberfest accomodation

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel prices during Oktoberfest were sky-high everywhere so we had to look outside of Munich. This hotel worked out great for us because it was a 10 minute walk from the S-Bahn train station (Taufkirchen) and the train was 20 minutes to downtown Munich. The hotel met all expectations for staying at a Holiday Inn. Room was clean, beds comfortable and staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Clean, comfortable, great staff, great place to stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far away city center

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Far away city center. Never back again this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Carmen Windisch, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Unfortunately the experience you have made in our hotel was not a positive one for you, which we like to excuse for. Please be sure we are very thankful for every feedback we get even if it is not so good for us. That is the only way to improve everyone's skills to give their best. We are deeply sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations and it is sad to know that we left a wrong impression to you. We provide training where necessary to rise up to the guest expectations in future. We can assure you, that we feel very sorry for the experience you have made and we will take this opportunity and give our very best to avoid incidents like happened to you in the future. Our guest feedback is important to us to make our guests feel comfortable which we have also proved in the past. We are sorry that you never come back again. Best regards, Carmen Windisch
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Perfect place to stay just outside the city

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location was decent
Cons: Not overcharging guests for meals they didn't eat.
Location: Train platform in walking distance, two asian restaurants nearby. We didn't care for the mongolian bbq behind hotel. Lidl supermarket is behind hotel.
Nice Hotel, great staff. We traveled to Munich for the first time and found this hotel suited our needs. Great pub on first floor, with fantastic food and drink. Tried the breakfast one day while we were there, and apparently you get charged for everyone in your room, even if you all don't go. In looking at my bill after we arrived back home, I was a little surprised to find 3 charges for the breakfast (22 euro each), when only two of us went to breakfast! Other than being overcharged, the rest of our stay was fine. Hotel is close to the S-Bahn, and close to grocery shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by LSC, Hotel Management
Dear Shane, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and we would love to welcome you as our guest again. We are sorry to hear that there was a bit of trouble with the breakfast charge, please contact our staff if you have any questions so we are able to solve any problems. Kind regards, Linda Schulze-Clewing