Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Decent hotel away from the center of Munich.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the S-Bahn which made it convenient to get around Munich and catch trains out for day trips. The room had an upstairs bedroom and downstairs sitting room with a foldout couch. It was a little cozy for 3 people, but there was plenty of closet space so that was a plus. It also had a mini fridge--another plus. The bathroom was very tiny and poorly designed. The cleaning staff was hit or miss as to whether they replaced used up toiletries, kleenex, TP or coffee. The breakfast was a ridiculous price of 22- euros per person, which of course, we did not pay--luckily there is a nice bakery and stores nearby. It is a basic business chain hotel, so don't expect much charm, but it certainly met our needs for an extended stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by LSC, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, thank you very much for your feedback and the time you took for it. We are happy to hear that you had a decent stay at our hotel. Unfortunately we only can take renovation step by step at a hotel this size. Also our breakfast price is calculated by the expense for regional and only the best food which is very important for us to offer our guests only the best. We are sorry to hear that you hadn't had a charmed stay with us becaus we don't see us as a chain hotel because we always try to offer all of our guests a pleasant and great stay. We hope to welcome you as one of our guests another time. Thank you and have a nice week, Linda Schulze-Clewing Sales Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

very quiet and clean

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, quietness
Location: we came for oktoberfest
this holiday inn exceeded my expectations. it was clean and comfortable, and the front desk staff is helpful. it was close to the train, and the parking is plentiful and spacious (usually they're a little tight). thank you to the hotel staff for letting me use the shower sauna when my room wasn't ready!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Susanne , Hotel Management
Dear tanya, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us! We are more than happy that you had a good stay and felt comfortable here. It seems everything was to your satisfaction! I am pleased to share your kind feedback with our team. We hope to welcome you again soon at the Holiday Inn Munich-Unterhaching. Best regards, Susanne Müller Sales Representative
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far away city center

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Far away city center. Never back again this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Carmen Windisch, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Unfortunately the experience you have made in our hotel was not a positive one for you, which we like to excuse for. Please be sure we are very thankful for every feedback we get even if it is not so good for us. That is the only way to improve everyone's skills to give their best. We are deeply sorry that our hotel did not live up to your expectations and it is sad to know that we left a wrong impression to you. We provide training where necessary to rise up to the guest expectations in future. We can assure you, that we feel very sorry for the experience you have made and we will take this opportunity and give our very best to avoid incidents like happened to you in the future. Our guest feedback is important to us to make our guests feel comfortable which we have also proved in the past. We are sorry that you never come back again. Best regards, Carmen Windisch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Perfect place to stay just outside the city

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location was decent
Cons: Not overcharging guests for meals they didn't eat.
Location: Train platform in walking distance, two asian restaurants nearby. We didn't care for the mongolian bbq behind hotel. Lidl supermarket is behind hotel.
Nice Hotel, great staff. We traveled to Munich for the first time and found this hotel suited our needs. Great pub on first floor, with fantastic food and drink. Tried the breakfast one day while we were there, and apparently you get charged for everyone in your room, even if you all don't go. In looking at my bill after we arrived back home, I was a little surprised to find 3 charges for the breakfast (22 euro each), when only two of us went to breakfast! Other than being overcharged, the rest of our stay was fine. Hotel is close to the S-Bahn, and close to grocery shopping and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by LSC, Hotel Management
Dear Shane, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and we would love to welcome you as our guest again. We are sorry to hear that there was a bit of trouble with the breakfast charge, please contact our staff if you have any questions so we are able to solve any problems. Kind regards, Linda Schulze-Clewing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
An amazing hotel, staff friendly and room was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by LSC, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time staying with us. We will share your feedback with our team. Kind regards, Linda Schulze-Clewing Trainee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a stay with family.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: The restaurant at the hotel was OK, but there are several better restaurants nearby.
This was the perfect hotel for our family of 4, including 15 and 17 year old boys. The room was very large and had 2 bathrooms. We were close to public transport and bought tickets in our hotel. Parking was provided at a lot nearby. We took several day trips to downtown Munich. We also had very good meals at nearby restaurants. It was great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Zahra Al-Mosawi, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had a nice vacation. It is also nice to read that you liked the rooms and the location of our hotel. But it's a pity that our restaurant didn’t meet your expectations. Please be sure that your feedback is very important for us, because we want to improve our skills. So of course we will forward your feedback concerning the restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Yours faithfully, Zahra Al-Mosawi Sales Trainee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice Hotel in Quiet Neighbourhood

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Bed, quiet, and relatively close to trains.
Cons: Did not try breakfast due to cost for buffet.
Location: Supermarkets and trains.
Located in south Munich nearby the S Bahn train stop Taufkirchen roughly 25 mins from Munich Central. We used the hotel as a base for day excursions out of Munich and easy jaunts into Marienplaz section of town. The stop is a 8 mins walk(700 meters) to the hotel. There are 2 routes. One slightly quicker up and down stairs over and under a bridge. The other perhaps by the street (slighly longer). Look for the circle intersection by turning right at a bank, you will recognize the hotel as in pictures located on expedia.The hotel itself was more than comfortable for those that need a place to sleep and shower. There are 2 grocery stores nearby and a fridge to store food and water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Susanne , Hotel Management
Dear Barry, Thank you so much for leaving a review on your stay with us. We are more than glad that you had a good stay and felt comfortable here. It seems you had a good time here in Munich. We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Munich-Unterhaching. Best regards, Susanne Müller Sales Representative
5 out of 5
by Roberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Teresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels