Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super clean and comfortable!

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly service. Super clean! Wonderful breakfast! Loved the place and will return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Hotel, Beautiful Location, But Not A 4 Star

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The Hotel Astrid lies in the picturesque, Bavarian village of Unterwossen. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly, polite staff. The bedrooms are lovely and, if you are fortunate enough to have a room with a front-facing balcony, the views are simply wonderful. Breakfast is relaxed and served in the hotel's restaurant. Cons: The Hotel ceases to operate after breakfast. The bar and restaurant is invariably closed during the day/evening, there was no minibar/coffee making facilities in the room, which purported to be a double (it was in fact twin beds joined together). You will need your room key to gain entry to the hotel by the afternoon as reception is un-manned. English is not widely spoken in this district so some German is essential. Unterwossen and nearby Oberwossen are very quiet villages. There is virtually no venue for dinner or even a drink after dark, a car is therefore a must. Overall: A lovely hotel for hikers (or gliders - a brilliant gliding club is closeby). Very polite, friendly staff, enjoyable breakfasts, dinner on a Saturday (but seemingly not on other evenings), a spa, which I didn't try, beautiful views of the mountains and Alpine scenery, but having travelled all over the world this hotel is at best a 3 Star. However, it could be really special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
excellent experience great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Ohio

Bavarian Experience

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
If you want a Bavarian vacation this is the place to stay for the real feel. Very friendly staff, great food, clean accomodations and the perfect little town to go with it.
5 out of 5
by olivia from mexico

great hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
very nice hotel
5 out of 5
by yvette from Denver, CO

Superb family run hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing family run cozy hotel. Quiet neighborhood, in a small Bavarian community, great breakfast selection. Rooms are very comfortable. We had a balcony I believe all rooms do. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Don't hesitate to ask any questions or if you are looking for recommendations in the area, check at the reception, they have the answer or will find it for you. They also have bicycles available to use, their restaurant is open wed-sun for dinner. They also have a parking garage available.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Naperville

Beautiful hotel---far exceeded expectations

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a gem and I would love to go back! It is in a beautiful, quiet location. The hotel itself is beautiful and well appointed. My room was a suite with bedroom, living room, nice bath and even a kitchenette. It exceeded my expectations. The proprietors are lovely people who did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast is included and is wonderful! We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was probably the best meal we had in three weeks. We drove to the Munich airport from here and were there in only 1 1/2 hours. It was so much better than being in the congestion of the city for our last night in Germany. Our only regret was that it was only a one night stay. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Hertfordshire

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful traditional hotel with great staff. We stayed 3 nights and did lots of trips to Chiemsee lake (20 min. drive).
5 out of 5
by Kurt Roger from Norway

Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding