Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Restaurant!

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Location, large room, good breakfast (at a very reasonable price), views, views, views!
Cons: Please provide food to tired and hungry travellers.
Location: Not applicable - overnight stop.
Firstly, the location of this hotel is spectacular. At the end of a 1.2 mile single track road, the hotel is perched high above the local town of Rottau. As such, the views are superb comprising the Chiemsee lake in the distance and the large hills in which the hotel nestles. Our room was very large, extremely clean and had a 20 feet long balcony. So far, so delightful. However, the day we arrived (a Tuesday) we were told the restaurant was closed and there were no bar facilities. After a very lengthy drive, this was disappointing and meant that instead of relaxing for the evening we had to go out to eat. Nowhere in the literature regarding the hotel were limited hours of opening of the restaurant/bar mentioned (unless we are being very dim). The proprietor recommended two restaurants in Rottau, one of which was closed. Are Tuesdays in Bavaria a bad time to attempt to eat? Fortunately, the second restaurant (Restaurant König) was open and we had a very hearty German meal. Incidentally, at the end of the meal we discovered the restaurant did not take cards for payment and the proprietor told us not to worry and to bring the money in the morning! The kindness of strangers - always unexpected and, on this occasion, both welcome and touching.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming & gracious

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Directions
Location: Near Chiemsee ferry to Herrinchiemsee which is very special!
Difficult to find, but otherwise quite wonderful. Exceptionally nice welcome, very good dinner and breakfast, special location--worth the effort to find it. Improved directions would be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Missouri

Beautiful view and good food. Hard to find-worth

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Toured cow pasture trying to find the route up the hill. Take care driving up and down the hill due to blind curves. Worth the effort. View breathtaking out of room window. Cows and cowbells below the room window in evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Beautiful location and great service

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We only stayed one night but we loved it here. So quiet and peaceful, it was the perfect place go get away from the hustle of the city. The rooms are a little run down, but they are more than adequate, with comfortable beds, and quiet surroundings. We had dinner in the restaurant and it is so far the best meal we have had on our holiday, with fresh ingredients prepared well. The waiter also did a great job in recommending both good and wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mountain hotel with view overlooking lake

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Style, view and location
Cons: Firmer pillows for a better nights sleep!
Location: Chiemsee Lake and near Schwangau Castles
Very comfortable friendly hotel with stunning view. Usual soft pillow problem!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Uriges Hotel am Berg. Man konnte super in der Nacht sich auf die Wiese am Hang legen und Sterne anschauen.
Cons: Das zum Bett offene Bad konnte man nicht abdunkeln, daher sehr Hell am Morgen. Sehr Hellhörig gewesen.
Location: Wanderwege.
Haben einen Kurztrip in den Chimgau unternommen. Haben ein Appartment-Zimmer gebucht gehabt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Gutes Hotel mit toller Aussicht :) !!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich in der Nähe des Chiemsee. Dort kann man dann die Inseln Herrenchiemsee & Frauenchiemsee besuchen.
Das Hotel liegt etwas außerhalb, auf einem Berg. Man hat hier eine tolle Aussicht auf die Berge und den Chiemsee. Das Hotel sieht auf von außen gut aus, von innen ist es etwas in die Jahre gekommen, hat aber seinen eigenen Charme und hat uns gut gefallen. Die Zimmer sind sehr geräumig und mit eigenen Balkon. Die Mitarbeiter, waren alles sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Das Frühstück, war sehr reichhaltig und sehr gut. Wir würden wieder dort buchen :).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ruhiges Hotel, sehr nettes Personal

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Lage, nettes Personal, Frühstücksbüfett
Cons: Auf Reklamationen wird prompt reagiert.
Location: Ruhig gelegen, mit dem Auto gut zu erreichen. In der Nähe befindet sich der Chiemsee. Idealer Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge zum Königssee, nach Salzburg.
Ruhige Lage, sehr nettes Personal, große Auswahl am Frühstücksbüfett, saubere Zimmer, gemütliches Restaurant bzw. Frühstücksraum, toller Ausblick...