Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Authentic Bavaria

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great location, old school facilities and hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

GOING BACK IN TIME IN BAVARIA

Posted Dec 27, 2016
If looking for a place to go skiing or just wanting to experience an old Bavarian village, then the Garmisch area is perfect for that. If you have time either take the trolley or the Cogwheel Train up to the Zugspitz, I don't believe you'd be disappointed. As for the hotel, the staff made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived until we departed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely perfect. Hope to stay there again soon
5 out of 5
by Patricia from New Jersey

Perfect weekend getaway!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. Very peaceful. Dinner was great too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Great German Experience

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: It was easy to find, the location was good, it was an authentic Bavarian experience and the breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Better wi-fi, and a kettle and mugs (for tea) in the room.
Location: Ample places to eat within easy walking distance. Cable-cars to mountain summits close-by. The village of Oberammagau is near and various castles.
Great rooms: we had a suite with several bedrooms, a kitchen area and a very nice bathroom with excellent shower. The room was very quiet (despite a major celebration going on downstairs in the restaurant) and we slept very well.
4 out of 5
by Heather from San Diego, California

Cute hotel in Old Town

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for one night on our road trip through Europe. It had a great location...right in the Old Town of Garmisch. It had a restaurant at the bottom of the hotel (we only ate the included breakfast) and a cute balcony. My only complaint would be that we were on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator so it was hard to carry the suitcases up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Real Bavarian inn, fantastic location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Garmisch Partenkirchen is really two towns. This inn is at the absolute center of Partenkirchen on thoroughly charming Ludwigstrasse. It is smaller and quieter than Garmisch (fewer tourists and touristy places, though they are not absent), more uniquely Bavarian (look for photos of Ludwigstrasse online). It is also higher up, so there are spectacular mountain views in every direction, at least when you step outside the hotel. You can see the high Alps peaks really well, though in Garmisch you are a bit closer to them. But if you really want to do serious climbing you should choose even closer points. On the other hand, 5 minutes or less from the hotel you enter hiking trails through the forest, and with even more spectacular views. The hotel itself has some unique quirks that make it charming but if you prefer to stay in generic international style hotels, with the generic "luxuries," then you should probably stay elsewhere. I loved my room (#19), with two beds and a (shared) balcony with a mountain just in front of you. But please do not reserve it for a time I will go there next. Please be kind enough to leave it free so that I can enjoy it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

lovely typical german hotel. in its own village.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: staff were friendly. breakfast was amazing.
Cons: room could have been cleaner. but it was warm.
Location: walks, mountains. a lot of tourist stuff.
smashing break fast. friendly staff. nice warm room.
3 out of 5
by Rajeev

Great location, small room.

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, good service, and an authentic Bavarian restaurant. Room, however, was very small and was a little dusty.