Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frisco, TX

Very expensive for less

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Disappointed with our experience here. This was the most we've paid for a hotel in Europe and it wasn't worth it. The bathrooms are so old and need updates. I didn't want to take a shower in the bathtub! The beds were uncomfortable. The building itself could use some updates. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. There are better places to stay in this area and I wouldn't spend the money to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

The hotel was a lot better than expected

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The hotel was great, the staff was great. I had breakfast and dinner everyday... it was excellent. Sauna and swimming pool were amazing as well
5 out of 5
by D Murray from North Carolina-USA

Outstanding view

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel on a hillside with beautiful views of the lower valley. We stayed one night because we were touring through the Black Forrest. We had a balcony room on the north side and well worth the extra euros for the balcony view room. Free Parking and close access to a nearby ski resort. We stayed in late September so there was great hiking and walking trails through the countryside and into the ski area. Peter and the restaurant staff were outstanding. Had our evening meal at the hotel and it was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Last minute reservation

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The breakfast feast!
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Castles, walking, ski-ing
The hotel is on the outskirts of Bad Kohlberg. Good English is spoken (and bad German tolerated generously) by helpful, courteous and friendly staff. The restaurant is good, and reasonably priced. The breakfast is INCREDIBLE. Expect to take a good hour or so feasting. The pool and sauna are good, though a little tired looking. The decor is generally a bit tired. It was a last minute reservation so I think perhaps our room wasn't cleaned, or not cleaned thoroughly. Certainly glasses were dirty but most unpleasantly there was urine on the back of the bathroom door. We were set up for camping so I just cleaned it up and really, I don't blame the hotel for the behaviour of the previous occupant and the back of the door is easy to miss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from New Jersey

Lovely Bavarian hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The staff and the food.
Location: Near Wieskirche and Oberammergau. Next to a ski mountain. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are within comfortable drving distances.
Hotel Schillingshof is a lovely Bavarian hotel near Oberammergau. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It has a pool and a very good restaurant. Best of all, the staff is fantastic - lovely, friendly and professional. Richard our host was attentive and made my Happy Birthday celebration very special. An authentic Bavarian gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonymous

Best Breakfast Buffet

Posted Jul 31, 2007 on Orbitz
This hotel was excellent overall and the breakfast buffet was the best we experienced during a three week trip around Germany and Switzerland. The selection of breakfast items was extensive and very well prepared. The room was very nice with a comfortable balcony. We also used the training room that was well equiped with both upper and lower body exercise machines. The staff spoke English quite well and when there was a question on the final invoice they made the requested correction without discussion. I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in that part of Germany.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Die Freundlichkeit und Aufmerksamkeit ALLER Hotelmitarbeiter.
Location: Hörnle-Sessellift (wenige Gehminuten), Busfahrten nach Unter-, Oberammergau, Schloss Linderhof, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Kloster Ettal, Zugspitze
Alles in allem erstklassig! Angefangen vom Check In und Infos an der Rezeption über das Hotelrestaurant und den Bar-Service bis hin zum Wellness-Bereich und Frau Lory, der Kosmetikabteilungsleiterin. Check Out sowie Shuttle-Service vom und zum Bahnhof tadellos. Wärmstens zu empfehlen! Wir werden wiederkommen. Vielen Dank!
5 out of 5
by Felix

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kai

Irgendwie halt nur Durschnitt

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
super netter Service an der Rezeption und vor allem auch im Restaurant. Ansonsten kann man sagen, dass dies ein durchschnittliches Hotel mit Regelleistungen ist. Nichts besonderes. Die Zimmer sind schlicht eingerichtet. Die Sauberkeit lässt leider zu Wünschen übrig. Das Zimmer leicht muffig (Teppichboden) - die Toilette verschmutzt und auch der Badboden nicht richtig gewischt. Der Spiegel und die Badarmaturen waren unsauber und mit Zahnpastarückständen versehen. Im Bett mehrere Haare. Winziger Fernseher. Wirklich hervorzuheben ist das Schwimmbad und die moderne Sauna. Das Essen im Restaurant war sensationell lecker - auch wenn ich fast 1 Stunde auf das Essen warten musste. Frühstück sehr lecker und reichhaltig. Würde ich wiederkommen? Wenn möglich nicht.