Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hotel with stunning views

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We had such a wonderful time that we extended our stay. Rooms are spaceous and very comfortable with balcony and stunning views of the mountains. The staff was always helpful and dinner was outstanding. We also enjoyed the pool and steam room. I wish we could have stayed longer, definitely a great spot for all kinds of travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel overlooking the mountains

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Perfect for hikes and lakes
Very nice hotel overlooking the mountains. Very friendly and welcoming personnel. Cosy rooms and very clean. Cant ask for more! NB: please allow a plenty of time for dinner. It is a bit of a slow eating type of setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Oustanding Service and location make this a great place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bracknell, England

Lovely hotel, stunning views

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, lovely big room, excellent food. The view of the Zugspitze is amazing!
Cons: Adding a third choice to the Table D'Hote menu would help (e.g. a vegetarian option) - though if you asked this would probably be provided.
Location: Superb location, with mountains, pretty villages and countless churches and castles to visit. Lots of walking and cycling opportunities.
A relaxed stay in an excellent hotel with very freindly and helpful staff and all the facilities we needed.
5 out of 5
by Frans from Scottsdale

GREAT find!

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
What a fantastic place in a wonderful location! Friendly staff, great food with wonderful mountain views. Strongly recommended! We shall return! You can not beat the price value offering by taking half board!
5 out of 5
by CaptMack from NYC

Best in Class Service and Comfort

Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels
Awesome experience!! Recommend it !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in front of the mountains

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Stayed for 2 nights on a half board basis, rooms are nice and clean, food is great and the views of the mountains are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Grainau before Garmisch

Posted Oct 28, 2012
The food was excellent, indoor pool and easy access to trails, lifts and train. I would pick the Waxenstein and the Town Grainau to stay over Garmisch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with great views

Posted Aug 28, 2012 on Hotels
Had a great time here. Hotel is lovely, very well maintained, and staff is very helpful. View from our balcony was terrific. Only issue was that the staff at the desk really wasn't very helpful in terms of providing us advice on hiking and other outdoor activities in the area, but we were able to get that info from the Tourist Office. We definitely preferred staying here (slightly out-of-town) relative to staying in Garmish-P. Only comment is the place is a little tough to find. Either bring a GPS (which we did and it got us there perfectly) or plan on calling the hotel to get accurate directions (they speak excellent English).