Ratings based on 760 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room, friendly staff, good location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
We had a great stay. The only down side was no coffee maker in room -- room service coffee is available but very expensive. We had breakfast in the hotel once -- also way overpriced. But, of course, there's a Starbucks nearby!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An Upper East Gem

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Perfect location for exploring the museums & shops on the Upper East side. Quiet & comfortable. The staff are professional and attentive. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
very nice hotel if it can be booked for a reasonable price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central location

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Lovely old style Hotel smack in the middle of Manhattan. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only ate in restaurant for breakfast/ food was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto Calif.

Great hotel location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Hotel had wonderful people helping in any way needed. Great concierge in Rick Cook. Perfect location for walking the park and surrounding locations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Worst customer service

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Booked room with Expedia but needed to cancel due to unforseen circumstances. Expedia customer service was great and very understanding and diligently tried to work out the issue. However, the greedy hotel manager refused to refund even a portion of the paid rate despite the fact that they still had plenty of similar vacant rooms. Stay away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on East side

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Requested higher floor at check in and were told we could receive a different room the next day. On the next day we were told to pack everything before we left for the day so we could be moved. When we returned nothing had been done. We were told the manager had left us a message which we never received. Would not stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Erika

A stay fit for a queen

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Want to feel like a queen in a palace ? Stay here. Pleasantly located between Park and Maddison avenues , this perfectly placed Hotel makes you feel like a true Yoper East side goddess. The location is superb. 1 block from a metro stop on Lexington and 1 block from Central Park. There is luxury shopping all around you and museums a finger stretch away. I loved staying in this location. Quiet and Convinient Check in : was elegantly handled. I was offered a very comfortable seat , and a few clicks and a swipe , I was being shown to my room through the elegant and luxurious lobby. The lobby itself is small but perfectly gorgeous. My room on the 9th floor , was an executive King room 907. There is some light coming in but it also a little dark and cozy. The room itself is very large and tasteful decorated. The king sized bed was heavenly and the bathroom is like a palace with marbles tub with gold fixtures , and a separate rain shower. The penhalagan soaps and lotion was something I could do without as I did not enjoy the scent. However , the following night I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice medium sized Bulgary shower soap The only Tiny missed detail was the refilling of the complimentary bottled water. And Maybe a few more lights in the bedroom to lighten it up. The doormen were all superbly eloquent and helpful. I was even offered the use of the house car to go to the Opera one night. I absolutely adored staying here and would do it again in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Oct 19, 2017
First trip to NYC for my husband. What a fabulous hotel. Can not say enough about the staff. Above snd beyond service, always with a smile. Thank you for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
excellent hotel ; friendly and helpful staff; Food and drink very very expensive : My recommendation eat out whenever possible , that includes breakfast which in the hotel we were charged over $ 100 for two : Drinks in the hotel bar ; One Beer and glass of wine $ 80 , Ridiculous !