Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Oct 19, 2017
First trip to NYC for my husband. What a fabulous hotel. Can not say enough about the staff. Above snd beyond service, always with a smile. Thank you for a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
excellent hotel ; friendly and helpful staff; Food and drink very very expensive : My recommendation eat out whenever possible , that includes breakfast which in the hotel we were charged over $ 100 for two : Drinks in the hotel bar ; One Beer and glass of wine $ 80 , Ridiculous !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great staff and location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very comfortable hotel just a stones throw from Central Park. Very helpful staff. Quite expensive for what you get, but probably no worse than other Manhattan hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location, boutique hotel, very comfortable.
Location: Great restaurants, good shopping.
Great place to stay, comfortable, professional but personable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Top location, perfectly tucked away

Posted Oct 7, 2017
If a quiet, mid-block location on the Upper East Side, close to shops, museums, restaurants (OK: everything, including the subway) appeals to you, then the Plaza Athenee deserves your consideration. The service is as smooth as you'd expect, but we found the hotel's vibe and its staff anything but stuffy. We loved our room, too -- a king deluxe. (Deluxe means extra room, and we appreciated how spacious the single room felt. From the floor plans, though, it appears that none of the deluxe king rooms overlook the street, so if you want that, speak to an agent to confirm.) First-rate and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and almost all of the staff were superb.
Cons: The concierge could be more kind and humble
Location: Excellent location; near Central Park and lots of shopping and great restaurants
We loved this hotel with one minor exception. The staff was amazing with one minor exception. The concierge was quite rude to my colleague. I didn't have a problem with him however my colleague did and it was observed by others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I couldn't sleep the last night. There was a lot of noise in the corridor. I think my room was close to a staff/storage area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Cons: Breakfast can be improved
Good experience, good save location recommend to all people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxnard, CA

Great hotel, close to central park. What we wanted

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Right now, everything was great.
Location: Central Park, History Museum, shopping and great food.
We did reserve a room with a king bed but did not get one. Security staff was great, we had left my wife's purse in the room safe. We called the hotel and explained what had happened, they sent up security and they opened safe at my request and retrieved the purse and saved it till we were able to get back to the hotel from Staten Island. All in all great hotel. We will be back to stay again. Great location!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

they don't honour the expedia booking

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: NOTHING - WHOLE EXPERIENCE WAS COMPLETELY RUINED BY THE STAFF AND MANAGER ATTITUDE
Cons: THEY COULD HAVE WAVED THE FEE
Location: DON'T STAY THERE!
WE BOOKED AND PAID FOR A ROOM FOR THREE ADULTS, THIS WAS CLEARLY SHOWN ON THE BOOKING AND ACCEPTED AT CHECK IN. WHEN ASKED IF THERE WAS A ROLL-OUT IN THE ROOM OR A SOFA BED THE HOTEL SAID THERE WOULD BE A CHARGE OF $65/NIGHT THUS $195 ADDITIONAL TO THE BOOKING FEE. I ARGUED AND THEY WOULD NOT ACCEPT SAYING IT WAS ALL EXPEDIA'S FAULT!!