Ratings based on 1,321 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke

Posted Oct 27, 2017
If you like a room and hotel that smells like cigarette smoke this is the place. I had to cxl my stay after one night . If I was traveling with my family I would not have made it one night .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa Bay FL

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: Maintenance! AC unit was very noisy, squealing motor. Very warm in hallways. Change from incandescent to LED lighting would help.
Location: Everything is walking distance of 2 blocks. Restaurants, bars, bus, subway. Easy to get to.
Nice small hotel. AC unit in room broken, very noisy. It was cool enough to sleep with windows open. Room is very small, only good for an overnight stay. Almost no closet, sink in bedroom. Very friendly staff and nice continental breakfast included. Prime upper east side location, Walking distance to great food and drink. Quiet location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Best price I could get

Posted Oct 20, 2017
There were some good points. The bed was very comfortable. The shower head was very good and the room was quiet. However, the bathroom sink did not work. Only a trickle of water came out. I reported it but they could not do anything about it. There were no hooks in the bathroom for towels of clothes to hang. There wasn't anyplace to put your clothes...no dresser. Only one chair and we were 2 people. The carpet was soiled. The ac window unit was noisy. The breakfast room did not seem clean so we skipped eating there.. For $445 it was not worth it. I know I could have had a nicer room (larger) cleaner and more comfortable at that same price elsewhere. Sorry but that is my experience. I will not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Poor breakfast. Breakfast room had 6 small tables for two. No hot food or toast. Wifi was very bad. Tiny rooms with hardly any hanging space. No luggage rack.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Invalid Extra Charges

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: It is quite central and easy to get to other locations.
Cons: Was very cramped
Location: Was easy to get around.
When i got back i discovered that, in addition to the service charge as per the booking, the hotel charged me $10.89 TWICE. And now they are not responding to my query on the reason this extra charge nor are they reversing the charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel is cozy and clean! Needs renovation but rooms are clean and beds and pillows are comfy. A little pricy but again so is everything in NYC. I like the location which is close to restaurants, shops, the metro and the central park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Frick and other museums

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Once I arrived, I found this 1929 classic hotel charming. Well done. On the down side I was unable to call them all the day of my reservation, "We are sorry, that number is temporarily out of service". Disconcerting, at the very least. I enjoy seeing old, revived places. Nice little hotel, clean, excellent bed linens, helpful staff. Could use new carpeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice, relatively quiet, and very clean room. Hotel conveniently located on the MTA green line. I will certainly book again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but clean and well-cared for

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Hotel is very old, but has been updated and well-maintained. The room was very small (a king bed filled the room), as was the bathroom. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and shower water pressure was great. The window air-conditioner was noisy but worked well. The TV was older and the picture quality was terrible on most channels. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I felt very safe in the neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Please do not stay there for $300+/night

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We did not have a pleasant experience there. When we checked in, we found that this was the worst hotel we ever had with $300+/night fee, and they would charge you other additional service fee/person, please do not be surprised! If you have found abnormal charges from them on your bank account, you can never reach them. All the contact information listed on the website is not working at all. BTW, you can search the name of the hotel and bed bug for additional information if you are concerned for bed bugs. And if you want more reviews, it is better to see them in the yelp.