Ratings based on 1,306 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Poor breakfast. Breakfast room had 6 small tables for two. No hot food or toast. Wifi was very bad. Tiny rooms with hardly any hanging space. No luggage rack.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Invalid Extra Charges

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: It is quite central and easy to get to other locations.
Cons: Was very cramped
Location: Was easy to get around.
When i got back i discovered that, in addition to the service charge as per the booking, the hotel charged me $10.89 TWICE. And now they are not responding to my query on the reason this extra charge nor are they reversing the charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel is cozy and clean! Needs renovation but rooms are clean and beds and pillows are comfy. A little pricy but again so is everything in NYC. I like the location which is close to restaurants, shops, the metro and the central park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Frick and other museums

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Once I arrived, I found this 1929 classic hotel charming. Well done. On the down side I was unable to call them all the day of my reservation, "We are sorry, that number is temporarily out of service". Disconcerting, at the very least. I enjoy seeing old, revived places. Nice little hotel, clean, excellent bed linens, helpful staff. Could use new carpeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice, relatively quiet, and very clean room. Hotel conveniently located on the MTA green line. I will certainly book again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but clean and well-cared for

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Hotel is very old, but has been updated and well-maintained. The room was very small (a king bed filled the room), as was the bathroom. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and shower water pressure was great. The window air-conditioner was noisy but worked well. The TV was older and the picture quality was terrible on most channels. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I felt very safe in the neighborhood.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Please do not stay there for $300+/night

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We did not have a pleasant experience there. When we checked in, we found that this was the worst hotel we ever had with $300+/night fee, and they would charge you other additional service fee/person, please do not be surprised! If you have found abnormal charges from them on your bank account, you can never reach them. All the contact information listed on the website is not working at all. BTW, you can search the name of the hotel and bed bug for additional information if you are concerned for bed bugs. And if you want more reviews, it is better to see them in the yelp.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville Tennessee

Repeat guest

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I have stayed at this hotel several times because of its convenient location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a small "boutique" hotel. The rooms are very small and the air conditioning is sub par. The breakfast is complimentary with juice, pastries, cereal, cheese etc. In the evening they have wine and cheese, crackers etc. Their is construction next door but it did not interfere with the hotel ( I was there on the weekend). The hotel could use some updating but overall a nice hotel for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We picked the hotel for its location in the art museum "district" and its proximity to a subway. Both pluses. Beyond that the mattress was exceedingly soft, and the room was exceedingly small (even by NYC standards). Breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel on Upper East Side

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I loved the charm and location of this hotel. There were a few issues that caused me to give a disappointed review however. The entire first day of my stay there were no towels in the entire hotel due to the truck being in an accident. The staff was very unapologetic and would not even give some paper towels so I could wash my face. They suggested I use the bathrobes in my room but there were none. There were three pillows to share between two people and they were the flattest pillows I've ever seen. I requested extra but never received them. There is constant construction going on next-door from Monday to Saturday 6 AM till 8 PM, I was prepared for this based on the reviews but when started at 4:30am on Monday morning I regretted my decision to stay here. On a positive note the room was a decent size, the coffee in the lobby was good, and the hotel staff was friendly (besides the lady who wouldn't provide paper towels or extra pillows)... but no wifi. I'm still wondering what the $14 a night service charge was for....