Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice lodge

Posted Oct 19, 2016
It's near Wellington. Facilities, staff, room... everything is perfect so I stayed one night more. I highly recommend this lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet motel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, rooms and grounds!
Nice motel, set in lovely gardens! Even tho there was a wedding on in the main building, our room was very quiet! The staff were excellent and friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, loved the breakfast,

Posted May 22, 2016
Cheers for the stay, rating 10 out of 10 and will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely bushy setting

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Quiet, attractive setting.
Cons: Clear info online re: room facilities (cooking)
Location: Hutt Valley, Southward car museum& beach Paraparuamu, train service to central Wellington to visit Te Papa, waterfront, cablecar, Zealandia etc
Stayed 6 nights.got upgraded to a room with hotplate cooking facilities after misunderstanding due to online booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: Nice setting... nice unit.. nice price
Cons: all good
Location: really quiet setting.. ideal for older people.. easy run into Wellington City..
We needed a place to stay a couple of days in Wellington area.. Found Wallaceville Lodge on Expedia.. inner city places were over priced for what we required.. For a whole lot better price we had a very comfortable unit in a very nice setting..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and gorgeous grounds

Posted Dec 6, 2015
The hotel is Upper Hutt's best kept secret. I have stayed in different motels around the area and this was an experience that was in a class of its own. The room was spacious, and the kitchenette was well kitted out. The internet was fast and minibar reasonably priced. The building itself is full of old-world charm and the gardens are gorgeous. No stairs, so if you have big bags, ask for the ground floors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Used this prior to Picton ferry trip.

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Comfort, condition, price, position to Wellington.
We were looking for a good price but close enough to Wellington to make catching the ferry easy. The hotel is very picturesque. The room was a good size and in very good condition. It was very confortable. The trip into Wellington at 9.00 took 30 mins on expressway and there was an accident, so a good position. There was a good selection of shops, countdown, pak and save and takeaways 2 minutes away by car. I would happily book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for short business trips

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Great spot helpful staff, I arrived on an early flight no problem to allow me to check in early Super setting, facilities a hidden gem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

Pretty Place to Stay

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Nice & clean all throughout the motel. Grandly old fashioned and quaint. The staff were very accommodating & helpful.
Cons: Very well maintained and looked after but it would be nicer if the bathrooms and kitchen area were updated/modernised.
It's a very pretty motel set in beautiful grounds especially with all the spring blossom. Nice and quiet in a peaceful setting. Easy to get to other places and the little town was not far away. It was nice to have a guest laundry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marton NZ

Wonderful setting

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Lovely setting and peaceful surroundings.
Cons: Dining room for motel guests and dining facilities are only available for conference users
Location: This was a business trip only
Lovely setting for a place to stay. Beautiful house and very comfortable motel units. Would have loved to have eaten there rather than go into town.