Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful chalet

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Amazing stay. Beautiful location with lovely views. Well catered comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Perfect getaway

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Calm, beautiful view, great amenities. A great retreat.
Cons: Air conditioning in the chalets.
Location: Head straight for the wharf and enjoy succulent meals in the local restaurants.
Calm and relaxing, the chalets are located outside of the (small) city of Mapua, on a hill overlooking the ocean. We really enjoyed our stay and wished we had stayed longer. We'll definitely come back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great views quiet n secluded

Posted Feb 19, 2017
A best-kept-secret location. Great pool n spa n wonderful view from chalet n all amenities. Discreet, quiet n perfect break. Walkable to Mapua.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Could be amazing

Posted Dec 17, 2016
In desperate need of a renovation. Rooms not clean at all, could be lovely but all feels a bit indifferent and uncared for. Cleanliness doesn't cost much, and a basic renovation / refresh would do wonders. Never saw any staff there.
5 out of 5
by Fukue from Japan

Hideaway

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is the second time we stayed at Mapua Chalets. It is in a peaceful setting and gives you great view. The people there are friendly.
5 out of 5
by nic from Greymouth

Worth a second visit

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We will stay there again soon
5 out of 5
by Shannon from Wellington

Will be back for sure

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Columbus, Ohio

Excellent chalet, views and remote location

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Kayaked in Abel Tasman. Wished we would have stayed longer in the area.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Burleigh Heads

Relaxing hideaway.

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome view from our chalet and from the hot tub. Great place to relax and have a bbq. Only 5 min drive to Mapua Wharf, good for a Sunday arvo session.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room(s) with a view..

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything.
It was just a quick overnight stay for a wedding nearby. I added an extra guest the night before (no problem they said) and when I turned up there was a personalised message at the (unmanned) office directing us to the chalet. We had a spectacular view and my last minute guest was very pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. Two other wedding guests were also staying there and were similarly impressed. The only disappointing thing from my perspective was that I wasn't there for long enough to really take full advantage of the beautiful setting and accommodation.