Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, right next to Christmas market.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Had a great stay, craft market was down stairs. Good value for money. Staff were nice and helpful when needed. Comfortable area for breakfast and clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

2 nights in Regensburg

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Wonderful find. Hotel has excellent location. Breakfast was wonderful. Lobby beautiful. We were in an older room. Very clean but a little outdated. Wi fi did not work in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for tourists

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The hotel is located in a very good spot. Good experience overall. The only issue- too nosy outside. And could be an issue because there is no air conditioners in hotels in Bavaria, so better to keep windows open
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location. Not a 4* though

Posted Apr 9, 2016
The good: - great location. - charming feel, nothing like a chain hotel. - quiet room. - friendly staff. - clean generally, including the bathroom. However, why I say not a 4* hotel: - very small room, about 150sf, tiny bathroom. - carpet in hallway smells - no parking, you got to use the theater parking about 5 min walk. - no wifi signal in room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in centre of Regensburg.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Cons: Air con for summer
Location: In the heat - swimming in Danube was very refreshing - take you trunks.
Good hotel but no air con in the room and heatwave in Regensburg made it a bit uncomfortable. Excellent spot in centre of town close to Danube and historic sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by Nadine Gregor - Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback to your stay at Altstadthotel Arch. Of course the summer in the oldtown is really hot. For your next stay please book our rooms at the superior category - These rooms are equipped with air condition. So we can guarantee a "cool" stay at the Altstadthotel Arch! Coolest regards, Nadine Gregor Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Beautiful hotel in the city center

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: The building is beautiful, and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: I was staying at a very hot time (38 degrees), and it was difficult to sleep at night. It would be helpful to at least have fans in the room.
Location: Excellent location
The hotel is in a block of old houses, nicely renovated, in the city center, with good access to any place in Regensburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by Nadine Gregor - Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, thank you very much for your feedback to your stay at our hotel. We are sorry for the discomfort you had during your stay. For a "cooler" stay, please notice our rooms at the superior-category. These rooms are equipped with an fantastic air condition. I am looking forward to your next stay with us. Sunny regards from Regensburg Nadine Gregor Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel very centrally located

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Ideal for a weekend break. Everything of interest is within walking distance.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel, but can be unbearably noisy

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Although the hotel was quaint and located in a great area, the front-desk staff were cordial at best, our room was inconveniently located in what seemed like the back of the hotel and above an unbearably noisy street, and there was almost zero airflow through the night and day in our room. I must note that we stayed in Regensberg during an unusually hot time in Germany. Our hotel room was not equipped with air conditioning, so we had to leave the windows open during the evening. However, even with the windows slightly opened, the noise was unbearable. I prefer a bit of natural ventilation during most summer weather conditions, so this would have occurred even in normal seasonal weather conditions. The street downstairs was incredibly noisy all night long with what sounded like partiers who frequented the street in the wee hours and service trucks in the morning. The room was located far away from the elevator and main staircase, with many "mini-" stairwells along the way...quite the inconvenience with heavy luggage. There was also include WiFi for our rate, but the signal apparently was not strong enough to go through the building's walls--apparently a problem known to the management, though they included it in the listing and made no mention of it when we checked in. In Europe, where data plans are archaic and expensive, one can't avoid griping about this false amenity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Regensburg

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Location, comfort
Cons: Old decor, hotel staff, late-night eating options
I liked the hotel at first, it was nice and had a pretty good location. Only thing was, one night I came in from downtown (which SHUTS DOWN at around 1 or 2 AM, weird for such a big-ish city) on my first day there after having been out the whole day, and I asked the front desk personnel for the internet code information. The man working the counter all of the sudden started complaining (or what sounded like complaining/ranting) at me in German. I was visiting my cousin for the week, so I unfortunately knew very little and couldn't really understand what he was saying- and he knew that. He continued to complain about whatever it was in German and then just stared at me. Then I just told him I could not understand what he was saying and, assuming maybe he didn't understand me as well (which if you work in a nice hotel in a popular touristy city, I'm sorry but you should know an international language (English) and not just one that's spoken in about 3 or 4 countries) so I asked him again for the internet code. He continued in a rude manner to rant in German until he printed the code (literally ONE BUTTON to do so) then tossed it across the counter. I said in my most sarcastic voice "Dannnnnkkkeee" (with a smile) then went on my way, still hearing him grumbling at the desk. Very unprofessional and if you work in a hotel, know a common language that many tourist know, don't complain about your own job (or quit if you can't handle it), and realize u are the 24 hour desk clerk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Denver, CO

In the Altstadt

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: Cooing pigeons, so close the window.
Location: Central to numerous historic parts of Regensburg
In the Altstadt, easy to walk around in the old portion of town. Exceptional clean hotel, very friendly staff.