Ratings based on 1,005 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Excellent ski in ski out

Posted Feb 4, 2018
Great location for skiers with valet ski storage, spacious clean suite with full kitchen. Good continental breakfast with excellent coffee, which is rare in hotels. Dog friendly was important for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2018 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Coast. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our ski-in, ski-out location as well as the comfort of the rooms and the complimentary continental breakfast. We hope you (and your dog!) enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CALIFORNIA

Beautiful Hotel in the heart of the Village

Posted Feb 3, 2018
Comfortable and accommodating! Coffee and tea served all day. Breakfast is buffet style and plenty to choose from - yogurt, cereals, waffles, toast, and bagels. Free shuttle picks up at hotel and drives you to town - leaves every 10 minutes. Rooms are nice- a little wear and tear, but clean. Fireplace in room is a plus!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2018 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the comfort of the property as well as the continental breakfast and the convenience of the free shuttle. We hope you had a beautiful time in Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Kind Regards, Customer Care- The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2018
great hotel right by the ski lifts, I enjoyed the hot tubs
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2018 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at The Coast. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our ski-in, ski-out location as well as the property facilities. We hope you had a beautiful time in Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

It looks a bit tired. Great ski in ski out positi

Posted Jan 13, 2018
We chose this hotel for its position and were not disappointed. We have now moved down the road one kilometre because we have family joining us and this place is in much newer condition and significantly cheaper. We can still ski in and out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Stuart, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Coast. We are glad to see that you were satisfied our accommodations and location and we hope you had the chance to enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast too. We appreciate your feedback and we are excited to let you know that we are currently going through a renovations project, in order to improve the experience of our guests. Our meeting rooms and part of the front desk area have been renovated and all the bed mattresses have been as well changed. We plan to continue this project on a schedule that doesn't cause any impact during our guests' stays. We hope you and your family had a wonderful time in Whistler, Stuart, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Excellent In and Out Skiing

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Ski-in and out feature, very helpful staff - place to store skis and breakfast available in the morning
We stayed here just overnight to ski at Whistler-Blackcomb. This hotel allows you to just ski out and down to the main lift at Blackcomb - great access. The hotel is alittle older, but very comfortable. The staff are very very nice. My husband got ill the day we were supposed to leave and check out is at 11:00 - they let him stay in the room until we got back from skiing since no one was going into that room. There was a small fee, but we were still very grateful there was a policy so that everyone else in our group was able to go ski without worrying about my husband sitting in the lobby feeling ill. The upper village, where the lodge is, is a little further from the Village, but the bus comes by every 10 minutes, or it is a quick drive down and park in one of the parking lots (fees are reasonable for the big parking lots) for taking a walk or doing some shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites, Hotel Management
Dear Patty, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are very glad to see that you had a comfortable stay and a great experience at The Coast. We appreciate your feedback Patty, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ski in, ski out

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: 1. Ski in, Ski out. 2. Breakfast is included 3. Nice outdoor hot tub
Cons: They do not stock a lot of hot chocolate powder during busy season. This is an area that they should improve.
very conveniently located unde rthe Wizard Express Lift in Blackcomb. Can walk down on the ski slope to the upper village in 4 minutes, Takes 10 minutes to walk back up. But there is a free shuttle (bus number 5) that brings you to the Coast front lobby every 15 minutes if you are too tired to walk back up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Customer Care - Coast Blackcomb Suites Whistler, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to the replenishment of Hot Chocolate. Rest assured, we will do our best to ensure appropriate replenishment throughout the day. We are delighted to see you had a chance to enjoy the hotel amenities throughout your stay. We look forward to hosting you and your loved ones in the future. Warmest regards, Customer Care - Coast Blackcomb Suites Whistler
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms are from the 90's and it's starting to show

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: The staff are extremely nice at the front desk, responded to problems, and I felt like they actually remembered me.
Cons: Rooms need upgrading as noted - wasting electricity with old lighting, old appliances. They could save a ton of money per year by doing this.
First of all I loved my experience. You definitely feel like you're in a winter ski resort with the location, décor, and overall vibe of the place. Would definitely go back. The location looks out of the way on a map but it's really not bad at all and there are very frequent shuttles but the drive is no more than 2 minutes and the road up is well maintained. However, the rooms are starting to show their age and an upgrade is really in order. Maintenance needs are starting to show. For example: lamps that have the switch broken. Old halogen and incandescent light bulbs everywhere, or worse, horrible CFL bulbs that give this unattractive greeny glow. Neither bedside lamp worked in either of the rooms I had. One lamp shade was melted to the hot bulb. If I'd turned on every old halogen light in my room it would have used 550w instead of 50w if the same ones were LED so they are wasting power and money. Old, old coffee makers from the 90's with the cone filters. One of my rooms had a noisy, klunking fridge. Biggest annoyance was no clothes rack outside beside the upper hot tub, so in the winter you have nowhere to put your towel and clothes except down at the other hot tub (which is usually full), or on the ground or across a metal rail covered in ice and snow. Everything got soaked. I brought a noise problem to the attention of the staff and they responded by upgrading my room to a completely private area which was an awesome thing to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whis, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at The Coast Blackcomb Suites. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the accommodations and that you had a great stay overall. We really appreciate your feedback in regards to the room. We are happy to let you know that we are currently going through a renovations project, in order to improve the experience of our guests. Our meeting rooms and hearth room have been already renovated and the mattresses have been changed in our units. We plan to continue these improvements gradually, so they don't cause any impact on our guests. Thank you again for all your comments. We hope you had a wonderful time in Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slope side!

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Fresh coat of paint would brighten up the place
Convenient slope side accommodation for amazing ski in/ski out access. I would call it “motel 6 on slope side.” It is worn down and the decor could use some refreshing, but the room served its purpose (ski all day and then sleep). Provided breakfast had hot waffles and oatmeal along with generic bread and pastries, etc. While it’s not gourmet , it fuels you up for the day. Parking is additional $23 but the you come back to warm car. Yes, one could pay half that somewhere else but if you pay for the convenience! I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2017 by Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whis, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time on writing about your recent stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the convenience of the location and we hope you had a great stay overall. Thank you as well for your feedback in regards to the general look of our property. It's our pleasure to let you know that we are currently on a plan in order to improve the experience of our guests. We have renovated already the hearth room, meeting rooms and replaced all the mattresses in the units. More action will be taken once the winter season finishes. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Customer Care - The Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Very nice hotel staff

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The best part about staying at the coast blackcomb was the staff. They were always smiling and polite and very helpful. The room had a nice layout and everything you could want... kind of. The balcony door to my room did not latch shut, the blinds on the door were broken, the bedside lamp did not work, the bedside cabinet drawers did not open, the ice maker did not work. So the experience was not all that great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Customer Care- Coast Blackcomb Suites , Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback during your stay. We are delighted to see our friendly front desk staff were capable of providing a warm demeanor. We are sorry that you experienced several maintenance issues with the room which resulted in a less than restful night’s sleep as we strive to make all our guests’ experience positively memorable. We thank you for your feedback and we appreciate all of our guests’ feedback as it assists us in making our guest experience better. We look forwarding to welcoming you back when we can ensure to meet your expectations. Warmest regards- Customer Care Coast Blackcomb Suites Whistler
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Cozy and perfect for a family.

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Location and view is gorgeous. The staff was kind and seemed to genuinely care about comfort. We loved the cozy and warm atmosphere of the suite. Would defiantly recommend to others. **The bunk bed room was too dusty for my daughter to sleep in. Perhaps because no one has used the top bunk in a while?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Customer CareTeam Coast Blackcomb Suites , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to see you enjoyed the atmosphere and comfort of the suite. We apologize that your daughter had a less than restful night’s sleep due to the upper bunk being dusty. We strive to make all our guests’ experience positively memorable. We thank you for your feedback and we appreciate all of our guests’ feedback as it assists us in making our guest experience better. We look forward to hosting you and your loved ones in the future. Warmest regards, Customer Care- Coast Blackcomb Suites