Ratings based on 6,585 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago,IL

Comfort could be improved.

Posted Jan 22, 2018
The frontdesk amd bellman staff are very nice. Beds feld uncofortable and old.you cam feel the springs. The bathrooms are NYC Small with no tub but great shower. Unfortubately the mirrors were old amd had perminant stains in random places so it was hard to use it. Don’t leave anything in your room, you may never see it again. The restaurants are great especially Pj’s next door. They are still playing up the gossip girl bar used in the show. Time to move on. Location is amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Empire Hotel in NY Review

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Overall, the hotel is very nice aesthetically within the lobby and the staff are extremely friendly. You can hear everything and actual conversations from the rooms next door. The mattress was also terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Afi Lovi, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Empire Hotel. We are glad to hear that despite all the inconveniences, we were able to provide a pleasant service. We have taken note of your feedback and greatly appreciate it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Empire hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2018
First, I paid too much by being scammed by your 10% off coupon which you would not give me. Second, the room had no coffee pot and the bathroom needed updating. Third, I will never use your site again and have past the word around that your site sucks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Jamole Campo, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I'm sorry to hear that you had an issue with your bathroom. Next time please let our Front Desk team know so that we may be able to assist you. We also have tea kettles available upon request. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Best, Jamole Campo Front Office Manager The Empire Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great location, lovely lobby, nice enough room

Posted Jan 19, 2018
You couldn’t ask for a better location: culture without Times Square hordes. The hotel lobby is impressive, the lobby bar, inviting. The room is small, dominated by a huge bed (especially given the sq ft of the room). It has all the amenities, plus a filled fridge, something you never see anymore, even in expensive hotels. The bathroom is teensy tiny, with a makeup mirror placed higher than the shower head (about 6’4”). Yet, because it has a shower and not a tub, and because it has a glass enclosure, the bathroom doesn’t feel small. Overall, given how inexpensive it is, the Empire is a fantastic bargain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Enjoy this hotel. Boutique type hotel. Rooftop lounge is nice. Walking distance to most things or subway if you aren't a walker
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central to cultural activities

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: location, friendliness
Cons: room was too hot most of the time, even with the heat turned off and the fan turned on.
Location: Fabulous 0 Lincoln Center across the street and walkable to most shows and museums..
The hotel was comfortable, convenient, friendly staff and quiet. The onsite restaurant was excellent, and open late enough to eat there after an early show. Very resourceful staff, always had help getting a taxi. Business office is in the lobby, convenient for train ticket printouts, etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great location vs. poor amenities.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
After having to change rooms due to a broken dresser in room 1, the bed in room 2 was very comfortable but there were no amenities. Housekeeping seemed to have neglected the room - had to ask for towels, there was no coffee, etc. And the bathroom is so poorly designed that the door-free shower ensured the bathroom was flooded each time someone showers. Very peculiar. The Lincoln Center location is ideal, bed is great, but I got the feeling the hotel isn’t well cared for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pleasant Staff. Unusual bathroom with tight layout and open shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2018
The only oddity is the lack of an ice machine on our floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jan 14, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel!! First, the location was great. The area around the hotel (Lincoln Center, Columbus Circle) is very clean and nice and safe. There’s plenty to eat and do in the immediate area. It’s not a bad walk to Time Square and the subways nearby are convienent. This hotel offers a lot of amenities - our checkout on the last day of our stay was at noon but flight wasn’t until 6- they held our luggage for us securely so we could eat lunch and walk around after checkout and not have to be super early to the airport. The staff were all very very friendly and helpful! The rooms were comfortable. I really don’t have anything at all negative to say about the experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! We hope to see you soon.