Ratings based on 6,387 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Nice small hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location, price and the staff.
Location: Lincoln Center Center, Central Park. A number of fine casual restaurants.
Nice boutique Hotel in a great locations 2 blocks from central park and across from Lincoln Center. Awesome staff. We were in the city for a photo shoot with a dog and the dog was delayed in the flight in and the staff was all cheering for the dog when it arrived. A bit expensive on the room options (in room coffee at $3) The shower is a bit challenging. Very comfortable and quiet room. I would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Ok hotel, but expensive for no good reason

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update all the chairs, sofas and armchairs. Offer normal quality Internet, if possible - complimentary, like most hotels in the modern world.
Location: Fordham University School of Law is one block away
Small rooms, tired look, maintenance is long overdue on almost every aspect of the facility, from a lobby with chairs, sofas and armchairs that have age marking more suitable for a flee market products, expensive Internet connection (not free) that barely works, reminder of the old modem days (really? in the 21th century still they are Internet challenged). The seats at the restaurant have leather that is so cracked and scratched and so run down that looks like a grandpa TV armchair.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
They set us up in the wrong room originally so we got moved to the correct room... but the correct room was next to the air conditioning vents! Also room was dirty!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Not a bad hotel close to Central Park

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Poor check in after agreed time desk operator was very slack Room service needed some boot in tail on 3 occasions
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nightmare booking

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We booked through Expedia a weekend and tried to change our reservation to leave early. The hotel did not help as we booked it with a 3rd party - Expedia. But the front desk staff could not care less. We booked a room with a bed and a sofa bed, which was unavailable as well. The man who was helping us did not even look at us because we were Expedia customers. While talking to Expedia customer service which took forever, we were able to shorten our stay but the price of the room was changing by the minute. Expedia confirmed a price initially and a few minutes later, the confirmed priced was up 100 dollars. The hotel has complimentary WiFi only in the lobby. However, only the front desk can help you with the password. I asked the concierge and she "elegantly" told me showing her tag: - I am the concierge (and spelled it pointing the letters with her fingers). We do not deal with passwords.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel! We LOVE IT!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Absolutely Fantastic! Great location with great staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's hard to beat the location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
You're close to Lincoln center and good restaurants. Parking is one block away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Empire

Posted Oct 15, 2017
It was a horrible place run by criminals. I would have given no stars, but there was nothing wrong with the housekeeping staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry to hear about this, and even more sorry to disappoint a guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Perfect location, big rooms

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Location: Beautiful view of Lincoln Center, surrounded by great restaurants, near subway, Columbus Circle and Central Park down the block.
Most inexpensive NYC hotels have postage-stamp-sized rooms, not this one. The Empire could not be at a better location: beautiful view of Lincoln Center right out the door, surrounded by great restaurants, subway a short walk, plenty of cabs, Columbus Circle and the park just down the block. Everything had been updated since I stayed there years ago. Lobby was a nice scene as was the convenient bar with ballgames on. Didn't make it to rooftop bar, but if I'd stayed longer would have checked it out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the empire. We had a room with two beds it was small but cute. Some of the rooms may need updating. We loved the Rooftop View. I just wish that they had a free breakfast, we didn't have any information about the breakfast which was not free so we went to the Starbucks right next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise.