Ratings based on 6,451 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riyadh saudi arabia

Great location and mood

Posted Nov 21, 2017
This was my 3rd stay. Great location away from midtown chaos but close enough to enjoy it. Love The Smith across the street. Favorite restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you soon - Happy Holidays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ct

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The hotel is very well located. The room I stayed at was very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Pleasant Staff

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. Great location with good access to transportation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! Happy Holidays!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Street noise terrible; staff unhelpful

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing, really.
I had to move hotels after one night at the Empire because the street noise made it impossible to sleep. The first sign that this was going to be difficult was the pair of earplugs left in the bathroom next to the soap and shampoo. I tried to move to a quieter room, but was told by an impatient person at the front desk that a) there were no other rooms available and b) I was on the quiet side of the hotel, anyway. When I tried to check out early, the hotel insisted that they charge me for the two-night stay, even though I was only staying one. Not a helpful attitude. Even though I probably lost money, it was worth it, because at least in the other hotel I was able to sleep without truck noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review - we're very sorry you had a bad experience with us. What you mentioned is not acceptable and we will address it with our staff. We really hope you give us a second chance. Happy Holidays!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

cold room the first night

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: very well positioned next to central park and NY Opera
the heating system was not operatic and window was leaking cold air - it took the hotel several reminders and a day to fix the problem of the heating system that was apparently general for that price i was expecting a better management of the situation and a better prepared hotel for cold days
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience. Happy Holidays!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel in nyc

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Proximity to met
Location: Opra
Nice ambiance. Great city view at roof top bar and location to other city landmarks and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the feedback! We hope to see you soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna, VA

Nice hotel, shabby pricing policy

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I booked, and pre-paid, a standard room at this central hotel. I was assigned a room overlooking a horrible interior court and everything in the room had a price tag. Any effort to compensate for the sub-standard room, such as a reduction in price or something complimentary would have had a positive effect. It did not happen. A disappointing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
We're sorry you were unhappy while you stayed with us. After reviewing your reservation we assigned you what you reserved, unfortunately, we do have rooms that do not have views. Did you inquire with us to see if we had another room for us to move you?? If you did and we didn't honor your request was because we were sold out. Once again, we are very sorry you had a disappointing experience. If you give us another chance let us know your preferences and we would be more than happy to apply them for a future booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Internet is a must

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The hotel doesn't offer free internet access. Guests must pay $10 "per machine", that is, $10 for internet in my computer, anither $10 for my phone, another $10 for my wife's computer, and so on. A rip off even if it worked, but it didn't. In order to sign up you must enter an "open access" (not safe) and disclose your credit card info. I complained to the front desk, who putme in touch with tech support and even refunded my first $10, to no avail. Tech's solutions was: "just say yes to everything, everybody does it". Hardly professional. When it finally worked, the internet was way too slow for me to do any work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're so very sorry for the inconvenience with the internet. We hope you can give us another chance. Happy Holidays!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Convenient to Lincoln Center where attending event

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Good service, location, comfortable.
Cons: Would like to be able to adjust heat, rather than have centrally controlled.
Location: Most convenient to Lincoln Center, restaurants, shopping, Central Park.
Have stayed there before. Always satisfied. Had trouble adjusting heat. Some fraying of rug, etc. Ate dinner at PJ Clarke's. All as expected. And convenient to Lincoln Center event attending. Will stay there again as needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We hope to see you soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped and overpriced

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Excellent location. Tiniest possible room for a very high price. Toilet not secured to wall. Shower designed to flood bathroom. A fine 2-star that charges $3/cup of in-room coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Front Office Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback - we're sorry you dint' enjoy your stay with us. We do hope you can give us another chance to turn around the bad experience.